How to set up hostname and server...

Themis

Verified User
Hello to you all...

I'm a newbie in hosting business and I would apreciate any help on installing and setting up my server and DA.

Let me start with a few data:

I have a Master Reseller plan with a hosting company, using the domain "netdomain.net" and I host a few sites of my friends and clients (as a website designer).
Due to slow speed and many downtimes at my current hosting provider, I have decided to rent a server in a European datacenter (It's closer to my region).

The problem is:

1. should I use the "domain.net" to set up the server's hostname and admin account for the new server, or should I use a 2nd domain I own "comdomain.com" which is not used right now and then create a second admin at DA with "netdomain.net" in order to move my site (and billing system wich is licenced for "netdomain.net") and all hosting accounts?

2. The domain "comdomain.com" is registered at Godaddy and it's domain management user interface looks really complicated to me (I prefer Enom)
I understand that I should add an A record for "comdomain.com" at Godaddy's domain manager, or should I change the host for the domain to point to my server's IP address? Should I also use the datacenter's nameservers or add 2 new nameservers that point to the datacenter's (my server's) ns1/ns2 IP's?

3. After I enter the client id and licence number for DA (when I run ./setup.sh), asks me what hostname I want to use. Which one is a valid hostname I should use?
server.domain.com. <-- with a dot at the end
server.domain.com
domain.com
or
server

Any help is appreciated.

Best regards
Themis

1) you can use any domain you own, but not just the domain name.

Your hostname should always be in the format hostname.example.com.