Lfd Integrity Check; should I be worried?

Maikel

Verified User
Hello to all,

Today I received the message written below. There where no recent updates that I know off and everything else was up-to-date (Custombuild en yum update). Clam AV didn't find anything suspicious about these files and I'm quite confident that my server is secure. So now I'm wondering whether it's normal that these files have changed without me knowing about it, as I'm not that experienced in system administrating.

Google didn't yield any specific results, so do you guys think this could be part of an exploit or something?

Thanks,

Maikel

--
The following list of files have FAILED the md5sum comparison test. This means that the file has been changed in some way. This could be a result of an OS update or application upgrade. If the change is unexpected it should be investigated:

/usr/bin/filan: FAILED
/usr/bin/procan: FAILED
/usr/bin/socat: FAILED
/etc/init.d/functions: FAILED

It's absolutely normal, lfd is just telling you that the files has changed. You, or some other server admin, must have run yum update on the server, and those packages where then changed, and you get this warning.

For example there was just released a new update to initscripts https://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHBA-2014-0190.html - and that would be the "/etc/init.d/functions: FAILED", after you did "yum update" on the server and upgraded that package.

Don't worry, be happy. :)

Thank you for your reply.

I understand what this message means, and the file indeed shows a recent "changed time" (altough this property can be changed, so a secure hash is better to rely on). Point is however that I am the only admin and I haven't performed "yum update" in a few days, while the lfd interval is a few minutes I believe. I also haven't set a cron for update.