MS Outlook: outgoing blocked

gcaicco

Verified User
Hi,

I am rather new to all this. I am interested in having my email account open up inside MS Outlook (XP version). I have set the options according to your instructions, and incoming is fine. The outgoing is blocked. I tried both 25 and 2525, I also disabled my firewall. What's next to do?

Thanks

Your ISP is blocking outgoing port 25. You can't just try using 2525 unless you told exim on your mail server to listen to port 2525. You could modify your /etc/init.d/exim file with these changes to use port 2525:
Code:
case "$1" in
  start)
        # Start daemons.
        echo -n "Starting exim: "
        daemon "/usr/sbin/exim $EXIM_OPTS -oP /var/run/exim.pid"
        sleep 20
        daemon "/usr/sbin/exim $EXIM_OPTS -oX 2525 -oP /var/run/exim2.pid"
        echo
        touch /var/lock/subsys/exim
        ;;
  stop)
        # Stop daemons.
        echo -n "Shutting down exim: "
        if [ -e /var/run/exim.pid ]; then kill `cat /var/run/exim.pid`; fi
        if [ -e /var/run/exim2.pid ]; then kill `cat /var/run/exim2.pid`; fi
        echo
        rm -f /var/lock/subsys/exim
        ;;
  restart)
        $0 stop
        sleep 3
        $0 start
        ;;
  reload)
        if [ -e /var/run/exim.pid ]; then kill -HUP `cat /var/run/exim.pid`; fi
        if [ -e /var/run/exim2.pid ]; then kill -HUP `cat /var/run/exim2.pid`; fi
        ;;

But there is nothing on your Outlook side you can do until something on the server is changed to accomodate a different SMTP port.

Again, I am rather new to this. Your advice sounds very helpful, although it also sounds complex. Perhaps i need to go one step at a time: Where do I find the "/etc/init.d/exim file"?

(I am running Win XP SP1).

Thanks

Gregory