New install

aleborg

Verified User
I'm planning on install FreeBSD 4.9, purchase and install DA tomorrow but I need some recommendations on what I need to install with FreeBSD and what kind of configuration I need to do. I'm new to FreeBSD (quite new to everything that don't ínclude Windows :D ), my Linux/Unix technician works on distance so I neeed to do the install on my own :( so I really need some help or a good tutorial.
For the moment we have 7 Windows servers and 1 Linux server, Windows is my area.

Hello,

Google would be a good choice for finding a nice tutorial to help you along. The probably the hardest part is figuring out what partition stucture you want. This can vary from person to person, depending on taste, but I'll give you a run down of where the files go, so you can pick an appropritate size/structure.

To keep things simple, you might just want to create one big partition call "/", but only do that if you have a huge hard drive that will never fill up. Creating /var and /boot is generally recommended because they need to be isolated. /var is filled with logs and email, and might fill up quickly, so keeping it isolated from the rest is a good idea. /boot holds all important kernel and boot information, so you don't want a full harddrive overfilling into that or else you might not be able to boot up your machine. Other than that, you might want to create a /home partition for all the user files. This will keep things cleaner.

Any additional comments/notes on how to setup a FreeBSD system, and things a new user might run into are welcome :)

John

hey aleborg!

I just did what you are planning to do over the weekend. A few issues though.

First of all make sure that the /var partition is big I'd say 2 gb. The default partition that I went with was way too small. Only 200MB :(

Httpd.conf was missing a line for squirrelmail

Imap problem in /etc/hosts