OVH and their internal licenses

Peter Laws

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,164
Location
London UK
Has anyone successfully installed DA using a license from OVH..... Firstly, I had problems with the OS, their control panel only lets you change it up to Debian 8! They had to manually change it to 10....

Now that is sorted, it gives me this when installing
You are not authorized to download the update package with that client id and license id for this IP address. Please email sales @ directadmin . com
even though everything is "correct"......

I wanted to save a few bucks, but got this problem for the pleasure......
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
9,927
Location
LT, EU
Did you try “./setup.sh auto” ? It should work even if there is an OS mismatch, and it should pick licensed IP up automatically (if there is any licensed IP on the server).
 

Peter Laws

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,164
Location
London UK
To follow up, when I look in the CMD_LICENSE page, the Client ID was different to the one they gave 🤦‍♂️ Support at its best!

No wonder it failed without auto.
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
6,154
Location
Maastricht
Yeah well... OVH... pity Hetzner still does not want to do DA support. Asked them several weeks ago, but still a no go. :(
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
6,154
Location
Maastricht
We also use our own license, but we left OVH due to bad hardware support.
A hd broke on Friday at 17.30 hours. We had to wait until monday 08.10 hours to get it fixed. Because we did not have a special SLA, which cost a bunch extra. So we instantly left OVH and won't go back there.
At Hetzner for the same price, we had a similar server, and on a broken disk couple of months later, we could even determine when it should be replaced, on a saterday night!! And they were faster with response.

But it still would be nice if Hetzner would provide licenses for their customers. ;)
 

tortue

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
2
Hello.

I have a dedicated server. Which operating system do you recommend? I bought a DA license because. I had this problem in CentOS 8 and could not fix it.

I am getting this error now. Operating system: CentOS 7
1615836934573.png
 

bdacus01

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
2,647
Location
Murfreesboro
Have you completed the install prerequisites?

You might start here

If you have more issues I would start a new thread.
 
Last edited:
Top