Password/login problems

Brandjuh{NL}

Verified User
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
9
Location
The Netherlands
First what I want to say is, hello everyone ;)

I know there are alot topic with this question, but I dont have found the right/working answere.
Maybe I dont have look at the right things, I hope you can tell me.

I'll give so much information as I can, but my enlish isnt very well, ( I live in the Netherlands ).

Enough talk, here the information:

The server is a dedicated one with

Chenbro 2U rack mount case
Intel D946 Mainboard
10/100 Mbit onboard NIC
Intel Dual Core E2160 1,8 GHz
2 x 512MB Kingston DDR2 RAM
160GB Seagate SATA2 disk
BenQ DVD-ROM speler
Floppy drive
FreeBSD 6A 32bit

Hostname = rs-hosting.eu

Original its from transip, that deliver the freebsd with DA license.
So far so good.

Its also the first time that I logon on the server, so I do it step for step.

1.Connect with SSH ( putty ) to the server
2.User: admin, password automatic made
3.passwd admin to ( i.e admin123 )
4.Su root
5.passwd root to ( i.e root123 )
well, that works fine, I reconnect to the server and can logon succesfully with the new passwords

Next step what I did was follow the steps into the installguid >> http://www.directadmin.com/installguide.html <<

Step 1: Do you meet the system requirements? >> No Problem works
Step 2: Make sure your license information is correct. >> Also the good one
Step 3: Begin the installation!
> fetch http://www.directadmin.com/setup.sh >> file download succecfull
> chmod 755 setup.sh >> succecfull
> ./setup >> also everythings goings good
I have chose for the Costumbuild

Installation is done and I go automatic to the scripts folder.
Where I look for the information. ( /usr/local/directadmin/scripts/setup.txt )

That tells me that the
mysqlusername = da_admin with
password ( i.e da_mysql123 )
And the weblogin =
adminname = admin
adminpassword = ( i.e webadmin123 )
then I go to the webserver with rs-hosting.eu:2222

but If I put the weblogin details
name = admin
password = webadmin123
it says
"DirectAdmin Login Page
Invalid login. Please verify your Username and Password"
I have try many things, reinstalling da, dont work
looking in the directadmin.conf ... but cant find where the weblogin could be.

When I take an look at server other topics I see that the normal password must the same as the da password?

I have tried to enter alle combinations into the weblogin but nothing works.

And here is the point that I dont have the experience to search the error :-(

I hope someone here can help me, to fix/solve the problem.

Brandjuh
 

iceuk626

Verified User
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
261
Location
United Kingdom
First check: /var/log/directadmin/install.log and check the password in there.

You can always reset the admin password by logging into the server via SSH as root and type the following:
passwd admin
 

Brandjuh{NL}

Verified User
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
9
Location
The Netherlands
First check: /var/log/directadmin/install.log and check the password in there.

You can always reset the admin password by logging into the server via SSH as root and type the following:
Hello,
Thank you for posting,

This is what I tried
admin# view /var/log/directadmin/install.log
When I do that I get an list with firectories and files, but I dont see passwords
or files with passports

The main problem is in my opinion that i dont have a password for weblogin
 

iceuk626

Verified User
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
261
Location
United Kingdom
Im stuggling to understand what you mean..

You need to enter admin as the username and the pasword it generated when directadmin was installed.

What im saying is login to root via ssh and reset the admin password:
passwd admin
When you have changed the password, goto the directadmin login page and enter admin and the new password.
 

Brandjuh{NL}

Verified User
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
9
Location
The Netherlands
Im stuggling to understand what you mean..

You need to enter admin as the username and the pasword it generated when directadmin was installed.

What im saying is login to root via ssh and reset the admin password:

When you have changed the password, goto the directadmin login page and enter admin and the new password.

You need to enter admin as the username and the pasword it generated when directadmin was installed.

I dont get an password and username....... Only my server information...


But you say I can solve it by change the admin password of the admin in ssh?
 

Brandjuh{NL}

Verified User
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
9
Location
The Netherlands
Oke I will try,

if it dont work, I will try to explain better

I have changed the password in ssh, and I go back to the weblogin and put the new details, but the same problem....

When I typ
admin
test

I got no error, but dont get an admin panel orso.


Let me explain what I mean...
Normaly ( I think ) I must get after the installation the admin details
But I got only the server details and no login details.....
 

mic520

Verified User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
5
First check: /var/log/directadmin/install.log and check the password in there.

You can always reset the admin password by logging into the server via SSH as root and type the following:
Unfortunately, even after "passwd admin", and new password entering, I can't login...
Any help? Is there something wrong with my RH+Directadmin box?
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,904
For a quick fix, you should be able to try:
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/scripts
./fix_da_user.sh admin admin
but if there is something wrong with the installer, by all means, contact us, as we'd want to fix any issues, should they exist.

John
 

storm_shadow

Verified User
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
15
problem solution

hi
for help to other users, if this problem happened :
This problem is due to the full drive capacity server...
so you must be go ssh and delete some file to free space , and resolve problem.
thanks
 

wattie

Verified User
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
981
Location
Bulgaria
In /etc/login.conf you may check the passwd_format variable. You may need to change it to md5 if your passwords are stored that way.
 
Top