Quotas not work on zfs mounted /home?

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Some googling shows that as recently as a bit over a year ago ZFS didn't support quotas. So the best thing would be for you to start googling for zfs quota support.

Jeff
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
quotaoff quotaon quotacheck repquota...all not work on zfs?
You'll be able to use the zfs commands from September (or now if you're on 8.1).
The only "problem" is that it requires custom scripts since I'm not sure DA staff is going to support ZFS.
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,927
Hello,

I've never even heard of it.. nor have we had any requests for it. If there is only 1 request, it's not likely we'd add it, but if there is more demand for it, we could look into it.

John
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
There is more demand, i am requesting the same thing for our servers!
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
interfasys, until we waiting for DA to officially support this you was able to fiigure out a workaround ? You mentioned using some custom scripts...
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
You can create a custom filesystem per user using the pre sh script and add some monitoring to cron jobs, etc.
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
That's complicated on an existing DA installation on ZFS and with hundreds of accounts...

John, the problem is not hard to fix from DA and i know additional people having the same problem on ZFS. Wondering when we can hope the problem to be fixed...
 

matias

New member
Joined
Nov 10, 2010
Messages
1
I need this too!

ZFS rules, so does DA and it would be great if we could use both together with quotas. ZFS has supported quotas for a long time, at partition level. As one can create an almost unlimited number of partitions with ZFS, I imagine the best way forward would be to create one per DA user.

I have installed DA on FreeBSD 8.1 with ZFS and it seems to be working well on the whole. Has anyone in a comparable situation found any pitfalls?
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
Hi,

Creating a partition for each user probably is going to slow down the speed or so...

Also, this is kind of impossible to migrate on an existing ZFS + DA with lot of users already added...
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,927
I'm currently working with Martynas on this.

Can someone paste me the output from the command to list all Users? I don't have zfs setup anywhere, just need to see what the dump looks like (and the command to do it) so I can write the parser.

John
 

Chrysalis

Verified User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
1,584
Location
uk
Hi John.

zfs currently only supports user accounting in zfsv15, which is not in freebsd 8.1 release hence it not been common place yet. It will be in FreeBSD 8.2 as is currently in FreeBSD 8-STABLE.

to read usage in zfs you dont need to set a quota.

There is the following command available.

Code:
# zfs get userused@vox tank/home
NAME       PROPERTY      VALUE         SOURCE
tank/home  userused@vox  130M          local
# cd ~vox
# du -h
<snip>
130M

if using the other command you used it is not accurate all "userspace"

you cannot as far as I know list all the users usage at once, it has to be requested seperatly.

you will probably need to have the fileset name as a configurable setting in directadmin.conf. This will only account for data on the fileset, so not /var and probably not database as db owned by mysql user.
 
Last edited:

Chrysalis

Verified User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
1,584
Location
uk
a stumbling block also will be it doesnt always report in same way.

here is a low usage user reported in K not M.

Code:
NAME       PROPERTY          VALUE             SOURCE
tank/home  userused@testzfs  50K               local
and for large usage G

Code:
# zfs get userused@amicii tank/home
NAME       PROPERTY         VALUE            SOURCE
tank/home  userused@amicii  1.03G            local
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
#zfs get userused@fagaras tank/home
NAME PROPERTY VALUE SOURCE
tank/home userused@fagaras 995M local

For mb sizes...
 

avantis

Verified User
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
37
Chrysalis properly mentioned the most ugly thing is the missing reporting side. Basically is almost impossible to do shared/reseller hosting on DA without having reporting to work.
 

Chrysalis

Verified User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
1,584
Location
uk
I have successfuly emulated the ufs repquota command and have this working on a server. Have sent John a version of the script. Its not perfect yet, I already fixed a problem on it after sent to him and will need a way to change the fileset name for the system but otherwise works great, the G M K issue for gigabyte kilobyte etc. is no longer a problem as can now always display in bytes.
 

SideFX

New member
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
1
Hi All,

sorry for digging up an old thread, but it seems there's still no support for ZFS quota reporting in DirectAdmin.

@Chrysalis:
Are you willing to share your repquota adaption for ZFS?
 
Top