Setting up a new VPS — looking for advice on server config and software stack

Kal

Verified User
Hi everyone. I'm new to DirectAdmin, and this is my first post here.

For over 10 years I've managed a little VPS. We only host a dozen or so websites, running CentOS + Apache + cPanel. Most sites have extremely modest needs (using less than 1GB data), but we have one WordPress site that uses around 30 GB data per month. Recently, we've had some server crashes. Upping RAM from 3 to 4GB has helped, but today it crashed again. Support blames it on a sustained attack of some kind. I asked them if it's a DDoS attack on a certain site, but I haven't received a clear answer from them. The server was at one point down for many hours without anyone responding to support requests at all—not good enough when you're paying for 24/7 server management! So I'm looking for a new provider. And I thought it was the perfect time to take a fresh look at the whole setup, including the control panel. cPanel made the decision easier with its new licensing changes.

So, I've spent over a week researching everything—local VPS hosts, OSes, web servers, control panels and server management services. Security, reliability, speed and cost are the most important considerations. And I think I've finally come up with a plan, but I'd love some feedback from people with more expertise than me:
  • Purchase self-managed VPS with 2 cores and 4GB RAM (which can easily be upgraded to 4 cores and 8 GB if and when needed).
  • Install CentOS 8 + LiteSpeed (Enterprise Free Starter) + DirectAdmin (Trial or Personal).
  • Migrate my own website, test and deploy.
  • Assuming I'm happy with everything, upgrade software stack to CloudLinux + LiteSpeed (Enterprise Lite) + DirectAdmin (Lite).
  • Get a quote from the guys at MC2 to give the server a thorough once-over, hardening, optimising and advising on the best setup.
  • Migrate client sites across (after advising clients of changes).