External PowerDNS Server Configuration

mediumfriedchips

Verified User
Hello

I have set up an external PowerDNS Zone that I would like to run instead of the DirectAdmin DNS Zone, so let me explain

The PowerDNS is running okay, I have a master and a slave (2 different locations) and so I have disabled access to the clients from accessing the direct admin DNS zone editor as I would like them to only manage the zones from the external DNS zone editor I get for them.

So the issue I am facing is that the zones that are created from the direct admin DNS zone (e.g when someone creates a new subdomain) the records are pushed to the external PowerDNS server but it overwrites everything and changes the SOA as well as the nameservers of the domain in the powerDNS installation .

What I want is it to only copy the modified zones except the nameservers as well as the SOA records.

Any ideas how I can resolve this ?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding your problem, but if your DA servers already push the zones to your PowerDNS servers, why not make DA the hidden master (very common setup) and make sure the settings in the zone in DA is correct in regards to NS and SOA records? That way you'll only need to access DA for all the setup needs including DNS.

Indeed, I can confirm what kristian says.

In our network, the DirectAdmin servers are dns master.
They hold the correct DNS zones, users can change their zones via DirectAdmin.

Our powerdns servers are the slave servers (or autoprimary as it is called in powerdns terms).

Kr
Dries

@Driesp or @Active8 do you know any easy to set up guide (preferable in Dutch) for PowerDNS? Or just look at Youtube video's?
What is best to use (uses less resources) mysql or postrgresql or something?
I also wonder if we can run it on a same small server as Directslave can or if it requires more resources.

@Richard G I had used this guide and this one in the past to setup PowerDNS on an cheap VPS

After install is finished( including PowerAdmin GUI) :