Plugins and cost...

Considering ROI, are plugins a good value for the prices being asked?

• Absolutely

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Not Really

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • Could be better

Votes: 5 50.0%
  • Does it matter?

Votes: 2 20.0%

• Total voters

sullise

Verified User
Been thinking on this for a while now.

Plugins. That's one of it's greatest strengths IMHO, the ability to add additional functionality quickly and easily.

That being said, just want to start a discussion about cost vs benefits of this very thing.

Let me start by saying that there are a lot of talented developers here in the forums, and a lot of great plugins, but what of the cost?

I'm not saying that developers should not get compensated for their work, etc..hell, I'm a developer myself, that's not the point of this at all.

My thinking is this...for small hosts with say 1-10 or so servers, it's probably not unthinkable to spend say $20/plugin. But even at this size, if plug costs start to raise to say $50-70 even us smaller hosts can't see the ROI.

Now, add the medium hosts, say 10-100 servers...almost not going to happen. And the large hosts 100+...forget it, IMHO.

It's one thing to buy new plugin licenses as you bring a new server online (but even then, if you have multiple plugins, the cost in theory could be more then the DA license itself..lol), but to buy plugins for all your existing servers..well, you see the problem.

Solution? Well, free is always one..lol..but probably not conductive to getting quality plugins, or at least not very many. People do deserve compensation..makes the world go round.

Creative licensing? Probably the best method that benefits both the developers and the potential clients. By this, I'm talking about something like exponentially declining costs per plugin license.

for example:

$xx for 1-10
$xx-30% for 11-25
$xx-50% for 26-100
$xx-70% for 100+

(note that this is just for discussion sake, not hard percentages).