would like supporting files (css, images) in separate directories...

dhenry

Verified User
Hi all!

I am very new to all this and I am trying to create my website all on my own...and do it right from the start :D (organized file system, w3c standards, css instead of tables, etc.)

I hope this is the correct forum in which to post.

I would like to separate my files into separate directories to keep everything clean and organized. I'd like to put all my css files into a global "styles" directory and all my image files in an "images" directory so that any .html page can find those files no matter where in the file structure that page exists. (note: I do not want to restrict all my .html files to a particular directory)

I guess I have 2 questions:

1) where should I place these global directories?

2) how do I reference the files in these directories? (i.e. do I need a "full" path name and, if so, where exactly does that full path name begin since I am on a shared host?)

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me!

Diane

Your questions are basic html questions and don't have anything to do with DirectAdmin.

But the answer is simple, so here goes:

You put the directories whereever you want inside your public_html directory, and you use relative links from the public_html directory to address them.

My I recommend you get a good book about html and css ?

Jeff

Jeff,

Thank you for your quick reply.

Although I stated that I am very new to this, I have read extensively and played around a bit with html and css. I realize that these questions are primarily html-related, however I'd have to disagree that they have nothing to do with DirectAdmin.