Client-side Let's Encrypt certificate validation for Exim

Protected

Verified User
I'm using Let's Encrypt certificates with Exim by pointing the certificate and key options to the files in /usr/local/directadmin/data/users/.../domains/...

(And adding mail to the access group)

Generally this works fine, but some clients are unable to validate the certificate down to a root CA for some reason. I'm no expert, but I googled the issue and it appears that for Let's Encrypt compatibility with old clients, it would be advisable to send the full certificate chain together (by listing the chain certificates below mine).

I'd like to keep benefiting from the automation and DA integration of the current system. Would it be possible for DA to automatically generate a file containing the full chain every time a Let's Encrypt certificate is issued?

Does the $domain.cert.combined file not present what you want? As far as I can tell, it includes the LetsEncrypt CACert at the bottom of it.

Barring that, what about using the letsencrypt_post.sh hook to build the full certificate chain? I never tested this, but something like:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
base="/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/$username/domains"
cat $base/$domain.{cert,cacert} > $base/$domain.pem

You are absolutely right. I don't seem to have that for all users (is it a "recent" feature?) so when I looked I didn't see it. Thanks!

The post script is available since Directadmin Version 1.501

Actually Directadmin already creates combined certs for users domains:

Code:
# ls -1 /usr/local/directadmin/data/users/*/domains/*.cert.combined

/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/user1/domains/domain1.net.cert.combined
/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/user2/domains/domain2.net.cert.combined
/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/user3/domains/domain3.net.cert.combined
/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/user4/domains/domain4.net.cert.combined
/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/user5/domains/domain5.net.cert.combined