connection to IMAP server failed

imran_lk

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
6
hi guys,

Please help me out, i am new to directadmin and centos, but i have a good understading of linux and its commands.

i keep getting IMAP server error for all web based emails mainly for roundcube and squidmail,

Please help me out

cheers
imran :)
 

daveyw

Verified User
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
702
Location
/dev/null
Check if IMAP is running on your box, you can verify this easly with 'telnet localhost 143' at the server or 'telnet server-ip 143' with your PC in the command prompt.
 

imran_lk

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
6
* OK [CAPABILITY IMAP4rev1 LITERAL+ SASL-IR LOGIN-REFERRALS ID ENABLE AUTH=PLAIN ] Dovecot DA ready.




yea the port is open and its running bro...!
 

imran_lk

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
6
" connection to IMAP server failed "

pop3 and smtp mail works fine with all clients

helllllllllllllppppppppppppp! :)
 

imran_lk

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
6
[root@server ~]# cat /etc/hosts

# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
69.197.7.80 server.staminus.net
 

daveyw

Verified User
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
702
Location
/dev/null
Add the line below to your '/etc/hosts' with e.g. 'nano -w /etc/hosts'.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
Add this above ::1
It should be like this for you
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
69.197.7.80 server.staminus.net
Then try again your webmail :)
 
Last edited:

imran_lk

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
6
hey bro amazing work, i tryed so manny thing as the answer is so simple, thanks for your experties, it works perfectly!

cheers & regards
Imran :D
 

Spamassassin

Verified User
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
18
WOW .. nice work man .. i was searching for this for ages and thought it's just a roundcube thing!
thank u
 

rockinwwf

Verified User
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
17
I Have This Problem

Hi I Have This Problem Too And Its My /etc/hosts:

Code:
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1               sv localhost.localdomain localhost
::1             localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
64.120.6.178           server.test.com
 

rockinwwf

Verified User
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
17
Sorry For Repost
My Error For Any Account In My Server : Unknown user or password incorrect.
Thx For Support
 
Top