CSF setup problems

RickDeckard

Verified User
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
65
Hi guys, on 3 different server i've opened, on csf, several ipv4 ports, same overall configuration on the firewall.

TCP_IN 20,21,22,25,53,80,110,143,300,443,465,587,993,995,2222,4949,990,35000:36000,2501,2195,2196,5223,5228,5229,5230,3306


On two servers everything work correctly, on another one some ports appear closed.
I've removed and reinstalled csf with no success.
Any help?
Thanks
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
4,217
Location
Maastricht
Hello.
I hope you used the ./install-directadmin.sh installation file of CSF because that opens most ports needed for DA.
Also, it's often not only incoming ports which should be opened, but also outgoing.

It's hard to help however, if you don't specify which ports are or appear closed on one of the servers.
Are they all the same Centos release?
 

ikkeben

Verified User
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
603
Location
Netherlands Germany
Hi guys, on 3 different server i've opened, on csf, several ipv4 ports, same overall configuration on the firewall.

TCP_IN 20,21,22,25,53,80,110,143,300,443,465,587,993,995,2222,4949,990,35000:36000,2501,2195,2196,5223,5228,5229,5230,3306


On two servers everything work correctly, on another one some ports appear closed.
I've removed and reinstalled csf with no success.
Any help?
Thanks

IF SSH is working then you can try CSF command line to open the ports you need, instead off deinstall!

https://duckduckgo.com/html/ then search for csf command line.

You can look yourself in your other servers which ports, also if you change in DA the port 2222 or so you have to take care for those things.!
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
4,217
Location
Maastricht
For CSF command lines you can also just type in CSF in console, you get a list of all commands.
If you want to make it easier you could do something like csf >commands.txt and then you can read the txt file.

However I don't think the commands are the problem here.
 

zEitEr

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
13,818
Location
GMT +7.00
Hello,

My guess is that you modify csf.conf from a source folder, i.e. folder where *.tar.gz file was unpacked to.

Sure, if the TCP_IN line you posted does not look the same in csf.conf, I mean you did not make any typo, and no missing equal sign '='.
 

ikkeben

Verified User
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
603
Location
Netherlands Germany
Also You didn't write which some ports are closed.
And are they closed only when CSF is activ working

no other software, utils, settings and so on that are wrong / blocking those ports.

Also how do you do those tests for closed ports, apllikation for whom they are closed?
IP adres for which they are closed and so on?

To less infomation i gues here?
 

Wanabo

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
165
Are the servers identical and hosted with the same hoster in the same datacenter? Otherwise some hardware firewall could block ports.
You could try to set csf in testing mode and see if some ports are still blocked.
Did you flushed your firewall rules?
 
Top