How to upgrade Dovecot?

rldev

Verified User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
1,074
I found it and it worked. I had to edit the dovecot section for the latest version.
 

chatwizrd

Verified User
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
2,007
cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
./build update
./build clean
./build update_dovecot
./build dovecot
/sbin/service dovecot restart
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Here's how we update Dovecot:
Code:
# cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
# ./build update
# ./build update_dovecot
# ./build dovecot
# service dovecot restart
Jeff
 

h2d

Verified User
Joined
Aug 11, 2006
Messages
103
Here's how we update Dovecot:
Code:
# cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
# ./build update
# ./build update_dovecot
# ./build dovecot
# service dovecot restart
Jeff
Hey Jeff

Just to clarify

Once you already have dovecot installed, there is no need to run the last command in the build script
./build todovecot ?

Thanks
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
8,327
Location
LT, EU
Yes, you don't need to run "todovecot", because this command is used to convert system to dovecot (convert all emails, delete vm-pop3d etc.)
 

roly

Verified User
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
203
hi

regarding converting to dovecot, do i need to change anything with spamassain, mailscanner, clamav etc, or are these unaffected.
 

nhouse

Verified User
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
152
Location
Tennessee
Ok... after reading this I have an important question for ye gurus out there. Jeff, looking at your post I see that you don't do the "todovecot" command. I see smtalk mention that it isn't necessary... and from that comment I assume that Dovecot will run without executing the "todovecot" process?

If the "todovecot" command doesn't have to be run... well, uh why is it suggested if there is "no turning back" from it's conversion? I assume John put it in there for some apparent reason that (right now) I am a bit confused about. Someone please straighten me out on this...
 

ozcorp

Verified User
Joined
May 12, 2004
Messages
34
To clarify.

To Convert to Dovecot ( current system: vm-pop to new system: dovecot )
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
./build update
./build update_dovecot
./build dovecot
./build todovecot
service dovecot restart

Just upgrading DoveCot ( ie old version to new version )

Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
./build update
./build update_dovecot
./build dovecot
service dovecot restart
 
Last edited:

nhouse

Verified User
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
152
Location
Tennessee
Hey... thanks for the input. I must say that does make sense but I just didn't get that out of reading the thread as a whole.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
I'm sorry if my post was unclear; the thread is about upgrading Dovecot; there are other threads about converting to Dovecot.

Jeff
 

nhouse

Verified User
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
152
Location
Tennessee
No, my appoligies :D I had just jumped in without reading the topic as close as I should. I was searching the forums about switching to Dovecot in general... and I suppose I did a "drive-by" reply. I do appreciate all of the input though... it helps me to learn.
 

kylelnsn

Verified User
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
12
Do i need to stop the vm-pop3d service?

What do i need to do to prevent errors/problems.

Kyle
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
You do not need to stop vm-pop3d; the update will do it for you.

You shouldn't run into problems if you follow instructions, though of course no one can guarantee that. You should always have backups of all critical files.

Jeff
 
Top