Installing wordpress

wdEvA

New member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2
Hi guys,

i've looking to install wordpress onto my website to host a blog, but i dont have any clue on how to do it after reading the guide provided by wordpress,
anyone out there can help?

Thanks.
 

floyd

Verified User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
5,310
You should probably ask this on a wordpress forum.
 

littleoak

Verified User
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
156
Location
Chicago, IL
Download the latest distribution of WordPress to your local computer. Unzip it. Use a FTP program to FTP the files onto your hosting account. Be sure to place the fiels in the folder where you would like them to appear on the web.

For example, domains/mydomain.com/public_html/sandwich will place your blog at http://www.mydomain.com/sandwich

Create a new MySQL database under MySQL Management. Note the information down.

Edit your wp-config.php file on the server and fill in the MySQL database information.

Visit http://www.mydomain.com/wp-admin/install.php or, if you placed it in a new folder, http://www.mydomain.com/newfolder/wp-admin/install.php
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Your ftp site is the ftp address and path your hosting company gave you to upload to your server via ftp. You should contact them for any help.

Jeff
 

ofcourse

Verified User
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
11
directadmin and Wordpress 3.0

Has anyone installed Wordpress 3.0 with multiple domain support?
One install that supports Wordpress for multiple top level domains.

Have a VPS with DirectAdmin. Believe I'll need to set up a reseller account and move existing domains over from my main admin account, do a few code adds to Apache files, and then add content for each domain from within Wordpress. Has anyone done this?
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Did you really mean multiple top level domains? Top level domains are such as .com, .net, and .org.

Or do you mean multiple domains?

Is this a new feature of WordPress 3.0?

Jeff
 

Arieh

Verified User
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
1,206
Location
The Netherlands
You could also try creating a symlink from one public_html to the other. Saves some http configuring, and only one account will do I'll guess.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Without studying this, I'd think you can do it with site aliasing, but as user Arieh points out, you'd need everything in one account because the username is critical for php to work as cgi.

Jeff
 

Lynn_A

New member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
1
I am wanting to use WordPress Multiple User and a lot of my pals have recommended DirectAdmin. Now, I am struggling to find out if I can make all this work with a cloud hosting account. I guess I never realized there could be so much going on behind a Web site. If anyone has any experience with a set-up like this, I could sure use some advice.
 
Last edited:

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
You're pretty much on your own as no one on these forums has mentioned doing it.

That said, you may be able to do it with site aliasing, but as I wrote before you'd need everything in one account because the username must be the same for all domains.

If you need entire separate domains, it may also be doable (also all domains in one account) by having the admin make changes to the site-specific exim.conf file to point all domains to the same DocumentRoot.

Jeff
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Since I wrote the above someone has responded on another thread with a way to do this. I have not tested it; I'm only pointing out that the thread exists.

Please feel free to search these forums; you may find a usable reply.

Jeff
 
Top