mod_pagespeed from Google

RockyOnline

New member
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
2
How to install mod_pagespeed in custombuild?

Today google announced a new mod for Apache called mod_pagespeed.

More info

Is this mod possible in DA and how can this be installed in DA?
 

Mr. Jinx

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
55
This looks like a very nice extension for Apache.

So today, we’re introducing a module for the Apache HTTP Server called mod_pagespeed to perform many speed optimizations automatically. We’re starting with more than 15 on-the-fly optimizations that address various aspects of web performance, including optimizing caching, minimizing client-server round trips and minimizing payload size. We’ve seen mod_pagespeed reduce page load times by up to 50% (an average across a rough sample of sites we tried) -- in other words, essentially speeding up websites by about 2x, and sometimes even faster.

Here are a few simple optimizations that are a pain to do manually, but that mod_pagespeed excels at:
•Making changes to the pages built by the Content Management Systems (CMS) with no need to make changes to the CMS itself,
•Recompressing an image when its HTML context changes to serve only the bytes required (typically tedious to optimize manually), and
•Extending the cache lifetime of the logo and images of your website to a year, while still allowing you to update these at any time.

How do you install this? The .rpm checks for dependencies:

Code:
 Missing Dependency: httpd >= 2.2 is needed by package mod-pagespeed-beta-0.9.0.0-128.x86_64 (/mod-pagespeed-beta_current_x86_64)
 

roly

Verified User
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
203
This looks like a very nice extension for Apache.




How do you install this? The .rpm checks for dependencies:

Code:
 Missing Dependency: httpd >= 2.2 is needed by package mod-pagespeed-beta-0.9.0.0-128.x86_64 (/mod-pagespeed-beta_current_x86_64)
yes i get the same error i have apache 2.2.17 installed so not sure what the problem is. anyone had any success getting this installed?
 

Mr. Jinx

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
55
If apache is installed in the default location (/etc/httpd) then you can ignore the dependency check using:
Code:
rpm -i --nodeps (the right version of mod_pagespeed).rpm
After this, you will find a new config file: /etc/httpd/conf.d/pagespeed.conf
Edit it to your needs.

Include this file by adding a line to /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-includes.conf
Code:
Include /etc/httpd/conf.d/pagespeed.conf
Edit /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and remove the line
Code:
Include conf/extra/httpd-deflate.conf
Also, make sure there is no 'setoutputfilter' line in your .htaccess file

Now you can restart apache and check if the module is loaded:
Code:
/etc/init.d/httpd restart
apachectl -t -D DUMP_MODULES
Using the pagespeed firefox plugin, you can check your new score. Take a look at the differences!
 
Last edited:

Mr. Jinx

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
55
I excluded 'httpd-deflate.conf' from httpd.conf because it sets an output filter. Pagespeed also needs an output filter and this seems to conflict.

At least, pagespeed is doing something now. The cache folder is being populated. However still no real optimizations in the output.
 

meto

Verified User
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
55
In my case it only increased load of the server. It seams that easy way is not always the best way. My static content is served already by nginx, maybe that's the case here.
 

Mr. Jinx

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
55
Do you see any improvement on performance ?
or do you have any chance to track the difference ?
You can download the pagespeed extention for firefox (first install firebug).
It will analyze your page and give some recommendations and an overall grade.
After you enable pagespeed on apache, you simply run the test again and see what has changed. Things like .css and .js files are combined and optimized by removing empty spaces etc.
 

MikeVrind

Verified User
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
52
Location
Netherlands
Any more news about this extension by Google?
If there are good improvement on performance, how about putting it in with DA itself?
 

ditto

Verified User
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
2,536

Peter Laws

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
1,768
Location
London UK
So Google do get things wrong....

Saying that, why would Google help websites, isn't that a part of SEO side of things? Ironic.

When I heard about this mod, I thought of a hidden agenda with harvesting data considering they track everything you do already!
 

Suurbier

Verified User
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
246
The beta period is over, mod_pagespeed is now official released. Does anyone use this module? I am wondering if it really helps and if it (still) eats memory like Wael said.
 
Top