Newbie & New Setup - Pls Help

Marc_R

Hey guys, I have been following this forum for a couple of days whilst contemplating a server running Direct Admin.

It's all setup now, and I have a fresh install of DA going.

Basically, I'm not afraid to admit I'm a complete newbie and am hoping a couple of you guys can talk me through getting it up and running.

Here is the scenario. I have 5 IP Addresses available to me and have no idea how to set this all up.

I need to be able to create hosting accounts for individual sites (about 12 all up) (reseller functionality is of no concern to me).
These sites need nameservers... ns1 and ns2.examplename.com

Then I have one particuarly large site that I want to assign it's own specific name server and IP address to and create the account.

Please, I have read the support tutorials and it really still isn't making sense. If someone can post the steps one by one. I will do them each at a time and report back here.

Thanks in advance to any who can spare me a few minutes.

You are having all the same confusions I was having last week with my new DA install. I have to step out for a cuople of hours, but I will post more info a little later.

But to get you started here's some important info: The "reseller" interface is a misleading term. More than being for just "resellers", this interface is an essential administration layer for all accounts.

More soon...

Marc_R said:
Here is the scenario. I have 5 IP Addresses available to me and have no idea how to set this all up.
Use one IP# as the shared IP# for the server, and set up all your domains on that IP# unless they require their own SSL Cert, in which case give them their own IP#.
I need to be able to create hosting accounts for individual sites (about 12 all up) (reseller functionality is of no concern to me).
Then set up all domains under admin's reseller pages; simply log on as admin, and click on "Reseller".
These sites need nameservers... ns1 and ns2.examplename.com