php gone??

CrazyMouse

Verified User
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
53
Location
The Netherlands
I installed today direct admin, works al fine php/sql/mail.

i wanne install the mod_bandwidth.
I restart apache and get this error:


anke# httpd restart
Syntax error on line 160 of /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf:
Cannot add module via name 'mod_php4.c': not in list of loaded modules
anke#



and I did't remove it... How can I fix this?
 

neorder

Verified User
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
392
maybe try to rebuild php from customapache?

cd /usr/local/directadmin/customeapache

./build update
./build clean
./build php

hope that helps.
 

Chris Kirby

New member
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
2
I am actually having the same probelm with httpd as you are.

service httpd configtest
Syntax error on line 161 of /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf:
Cannot add module via name 'mod_php4.c': not in list of loaded modules

No system changes were made by us other than the automatic directadmin update a few days ago. But I am not sure if this is responsible for the problem or not.

I have left a message with directadmin support.

Chris.
 

Chris Kirby

New member
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
2
I am actually having the same probelm with httpd as you are.

service httpd configtest
Syntax error on line 161 of /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf:
Cannot add module via name 'mod_php4.c': not in list of loaded modules

No system changes were made by us other than the automatic directadmin update a few days ago. But I am not sure if this is responsible for the problem or not.

I have left a message with directadmin support.

Chris.
 

donavan

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
14
Found it:

I ran into the same problem. I 'fixed' it by removing one of the if statements in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
Look around line 80 for
<IfDefine HAVE_PHP4>
LoadModule php4_module modules/libphp4.so
</IfDefine>
and comment out the <IfDefine> like this:
#<IfDefine HAVE_PHP4>
LoadModule php4_module modules/libphp4.so
#</IfDefine>
Not sure why, but for whatever reason the HAVE_PHP4 varialbe wasnt being passed to apache anymore. This stopped it from preloading modules/libphp4.so which caused mod_php4.c to not be found. I think...
 

pcoeman

Verified User
Joined
Jul 20, 2004
Messages
55
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Re: Found it:

donavan said:
I ran into the same problem. I 'fixed' it by removing one of the if statements in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
Look around line 80 for

and comment out the <IfDefine> like this:


Not sure why, but for whatever reason the HAVE_PHP4 varialbe wasnt being passed to apache anymore. This stopped it from preloading modules/libphp4.so which caused mod_php4.c to not be found. I think...
Thanks Donovan, it helps me out the... Also here, I have no idea what makes this happent.
 

donavan

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
14
I think

The problem seems to be with the /usr/local/etc/rc.d/httpd startup/shutdown script which I think is called by DirectAdmin to control Apache.
The function moduleargs() is supposed to parse what modules are compiled/available for apache to use. It then takes the list of modules and fromats them as a -HAVE_<mod> argument.
When the start() function is called it uses the moduleargs() function when calling /usr/sbin/httpd to startup.

The correct way would be to see whats breaking moduleargs() but Im lazy and the dirty hack seems to work fine.
 

pcoeman

Verified User
Joined
Jul 20, 2004
Messages
55
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Re: I think

donavan said:
The problem seems to be with the /usr/local/etc/rc.d/httpd startup/shutdown script which I think is called by DirectAdmin to control Apache.
The function moduleargs() is supposed to parse what modules are compiled/available for apache to use. It then takes the list of modules and fromats them as a -HAVE_<mod> argument.
When the start() function is called it uses the moduleargs() function when calling /usr/sbin/httpd to startup.

The correct way would be to see whats breaking moduleargs() but Im lazy and the dirty hack seems to work fine.
I report the problem and the solution to John with a link to your message. Thanks again.
 
Top