Server IPv6 vhost is missing

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
The server's vhost is held in /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
Right now it only contains the IPv4 config of the server and the server's IPv6 is added to /etc/httpd/conf/ips.conf if you add it to the cp.

The problem with that setup is that users will land on different pages depending on what type of network they are using.

The fix is to not add the ip to the cp and to manually add the IPv6s to the server's vhost.

I realize that with the millions IPv6s that we can use, named based hosting doesn't make sense and thus we don't really need to add the server's IP to the CP to share it, but I still think that the vhsot should be correctly set based on the server's IPv6 that we should be able to set somewhere.
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,920
Hello,

We'll have to look at if it's logically supposed to be in there or not. For the case for IP mirroring (all domains get one IP4 and IP6), it would make sense, but we've approached it as extra IPs for the box. As long as an IPv6 is set as shared, it will have it's own VH in the ips.conf. The only difference is that it default's to it's owner's /home/resellre/domains/shared directory instead of /var/www/html. The "server IP", in the httpd-vhosts.conf is really only though of as being for the licensed IP.. so having 2 IPs in there isn't quite as logical for how we've approached it. I won't go as far as saying that it would be wrong to have an IPv6 in there, but that's just not the perspective we've attacked the implementation with.

John
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
Hello John,

Thank you for your detailed explanation.
We took the dual-stack approach for all services, making it easy for any network to reach exactly the same content without having us to set up a tunnel. So for us, it makes sense to have 2 IPs per vhost, but I understand your approach.

Cheers,
Olivier
 

AndriesLouw

Verified User
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
28
Location
Sneek, Netherlands
So I should give each reseller his own IPv6 address to use for his/her users, even if it's using only the server's IPv4 address?

Isn't it possible to set an IPv6 address as "server" so I can appoint it to each and every user, regardless of the reseller?

Because I like to use the dual-stack approach, wherein we "link" an IPv6 address to each IPv4 address. So we have the same number of users on the IPv6 address as on it's "linked" IPv4 address, and each domain gets the same A and AAAA records. Edit: I like the "IP mirroring" as you call it.
 
Last edited:

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,920
Unforunately, the "server IP" cannot be IPv6 at this time because our licensing system has to be updated to support it and the license IP must match the server IP. No eta on that.

John
 

nieuwhier

Verified User
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
280
Location
Netherlands
But it would be the most simple solution; add a ipv6 as a 'second' serverip and create corresponding aaaa records for it and let the license work on the ipv4 for now.

Time is moving fast... ipv6 should be implemented by mosts or all providers/hosts within 6 or 7 months ?
 
Top