Subdomain location

Gander

Verified User
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
15
Location
Warsaw, Poland
I need this construction:

Code:
~/domains/any-domain/public_html/
~/domains/any-domain/subdomains/any-subdomain/public_html/
I thought over this a long time and even this way I wanted it organized in our scripts, but I do not have any protection that will not erase me this directory:

for help.domain.ex should delete:

Code:
~/domains/domain.ex/subdomains/help/
but DA will try delete:

Code:
~/domains/domain.ex/public_html/help/
 
Last edited:

EWH

Verified User
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
7
I just can't believe that DirectAdmin still creates subdomains into domain public_html folder, and I don't see any GUI way to set the wanted location. I mean how difficult is to copy great features from cPanel and implement them into DA? It's not illegal is it?

cPanel creates subdomains in this manner:
/home/user/public_html (of main account domain)
/home/user/subdomain1
/home/user/subdomain2
/home/user/addon_domain1
/home/user/addon_domain2

It also gives easy managable option to change the Subdomain and Addon Domain location WHEREVER user preffers in the /home/user folder (Document Root).
I think, that is functionality is exactly what most users want and I am really surprised that DA still doesn't have it.
 

habenix

New member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
2
Push
The thread is already over 10 years old and still no real fix (only workarounds) :eek:
 

alwaysbusy

Verified User
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
40
Hello.

Sorry when i have to ask... in your demo version (https://www.directadmin.com/evolution.php) the feature for the subdomains is still not seen... is this a bug or is the demo version using an other directadmin version?

Which directadmin version i would have to install and which skin, that i can change the path of my subdomains?

Thanks and Greets
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
9,095
Location
LT, EU
Hello.

Sorry when i have to ask... in your demo version (https://www.directadmin.com/evolution.php) the feature for the subdomains is still not seen... is this a bug or is the demo version using an other directadmin version?

Which directadmin version i would have to install and which skin, that i can change the path of my subdomains?

Thanks and Greets
Please check the demo now, it didn't run 1.60.4.
 

alwaysbusy

Verified User
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
40
Thank you very much. Is there somewhere a example how the custom dcoroot should look like when i want to create the subdomain as a folder within the public_html folder of that main domain? Otherwise i can also try it out...

Greets
 
Top