Thoughts for a single distro for web servers, gui servers, and desktops.

IT_Architect

Verified User
- I want to standardize on a single version of Linux that can be web server VMs (web with extreme loads quite often), server VMs with KDE that I can RDP into (project NFS volumes, run updates on all VMs computers, backups on all machines, status reports and run scheduled updates on all of the machines on the network like the Windows 2003 Servers currently does today, and might as well consolidate the Zabbix server into those same VMs also), a shared cloud desktop VM or two, and maybe a local desktop or two. This is all on a private VLAN of bare metal servers running ESXi inside Softlayer, now IBM. My background is FreeBSD and Windows Server and Workstation, so it's not like I'm familiar with any version of Linux. Other than an install of AlmaLinux and DA which, which didn't seem much different than FreeBSD, I've been away from Linux for nearly 2 decades. I could put KDE on AlmaLinux where needed or go the Ubuntu server route with the flexibility of using one of its spin-offs for desktop such as Linux Mint.

- Low frequency and ease of upgrades is important because our game is custom and commercial line-of-business apps, and updates to that kind of software does not revolve around PHP's schizophrenia. It appears Debian is supported for 3 years, Ubuntu 5 years, and AlmaLinux 5 years, and RockyLinux 3 years. (Unless DA supports them as long as they are getting security releases.) AlmaLinux seems like the CENTOS heir-apparent, especially with the CloudLinux push, but I wonder about how upgrades go compared to Ubuntu.

Simply trolling for insights from people who live in these distros,
Thanks!