Very Useful Options to add to Spamassassin

elysch

Very Useful Options to add to DA's Spamassassin configurability

Hello everybody.

I'm very new to DA and exim.conf, so I don't know how easy is to do what I'm going to suggest, but I think It's worth discussing it.

I searched the forums looking for this, but I couldn't find almost anything. Please forgive me if I'm re-posting about an already discussed subject.

What I think would be great to do with SpamAssassin configuration in DA is:
  1. To be able to enable/disable SpamAssassin on a mailbox basis
  2. To be able to select if the mailbox user wants to put all spam on a separate folder or simply mark it as spam on the subject ***
  3. (if it's possible) A way so the users who already downloaded their mail can still train the bayes algorithm to tell if a message is spam or not
    [/list=1]

***) If should use a separate folder, it depends on the webmail installed, right?. I whould also put these spam folders on a logrotate configuration so each month it overwrites the "last-month-spam" file with "this-month-spam" contents.

I've just thought about how to do the first two points (I don't know how to do the third)

EXIM:
    For what I could tell from the exim configuration documents, it's possible to find if the destination e-mail address appears in an external file using "lookup" and "lsearch". You could also put some other parameters for each line in this external file.
    This file should be at the domain's home directory. Maybe could call it ".spamassassin_users" with this format:
    user1: :InSubject:
    user2: :Folder:
    user3: :InSubject:
    user4: :InSubject:

The spamcheck: transport could call a script with a parameter (InSubject or Folder) so it knows what to do:
    • should call spamc with a configuration that changes the subject