DirectSlave/GO 3 - public beta

DhoTjai

Verified User
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
80
Location
Netherlands
Hello,

I'm trying to install DirectSlave on centos 7.
Everything is working i guess.
Except my *.db files look weird and not like they are on the server with directadmin.

This is how my *.db files right now, this can't be right?
Code:
^@^@^@^B^@^@^@^AY�^U-^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@n^@^A^@^F^@^@^@^@8@^@^@^@^A^@^T^Oaquariummanager^Bnl^@^@D^Cns1^Hhostplus^Bnl^@
hostmaster^Oaquariummanager^Bnl^@x:��^@^@8@^@^@^N^P^@^Ru^@^@^AQ�^@^@^@N^@^A^@^B^@^@^@^@^A,^@^@^@^B^@^T^Oaquariummanager^Bnl^@^@^Q^Cns1^Hhostplus^Bnl^@^@^Q^Cns2^Hhostplus^Bnl^@^@^@$^Dmail^Oaquariummanager^Bnl^@^@^@^@1^@^A^@^A^@^@^@^@^A,^@^@^@^A^@^W^Baa^Oaquariummanager^Bnl^@^@^D%a�^C^@^@^@
I've 3 other domains setup and al look somewhat similar.

Does anybody have this same problem and how did they fix it?
There is also no error or what so ever.
That should be fine, don't worry ;) Bind automatically save slave files as raw binary format to improve performance. If you want to check the contents of the zone files, you can convert them to text format.

Code:
named-compilezone -f raw -F text -o domain.ext.txt domain.ext domain.ext.db
-f = input format
-F = output format
-o = filename(output) zonename(domain) filename(input)
 
Last edited:

ericc

Verified User
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
16
Hi,

Just tried your DA Multiserver emulator:) Checks went ok, zone records changes in directslave.inc, but no .db files are created. What might be the cause for this?
 

ericc

Verified User
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
16
Well in case anybody's interested, there must be "allow-transfer", "also-notify" in DA servers named.conf and "allow-transfer", "allow-notify" in DS named.conf with DS and DA IP's accordingly. It was mentioned in DS thread earlier. Extensive README to DS would be very good thing, actually I could prepare one:)

To start DS automatically after reboot in CENTOS 7, you can create file "etc/systemd/system/directslave.service" with the following contents:

[Unit]
Description=DirectSlave
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStart=/usr/local/directslave/bin/directslave --run
Restart=always

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

That's what works for me, I am sure it can be done another way.
 

roman_m

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
130
Location
Ukraine, Kiev

verkerkict

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
12
Change named_workdir (in directslave.conf) to: /var/cache/bind
Restart directslave (and bind9)

See file: /etc/apparmor.d/usr.sbin.named
Code:
  # /etc/bind should be read-only for bind
  # /var/lib/bind is for dynamically updated zone (and journal) files.
  # /var/cache/bind is for slave/stub data, since we're not the origin of it.
  # See /usr/share/doc/bind9/README.Debian.gz
  /etc/bind/* r,
  /var/lib/bind/** rw,
  /var/lib/bind/ rw,
  /var/cache/bind/** lrw,
  /var/cache/bind/ rw,
Hello all,

Got the same error, so directadmin.inc is filled with the domain but no DB creation.
Tried above solution but didn;t work, different is also im using Centos7 and above is Ubuntu.

Did not see or find any error logging, maybe someone got an solution?
 

verkerkict

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
12
Hello,

Yes saw that post and tried it but didn;t work.
Also change uid and guid to 25

id named
uid=25(named) gid=25(named) groups=25(named)




check:
/usr/local/directslave/bin/directslave --check

DEBUG: Running as root (0), dropping privileges to 25:25
DirectSlave GO/3.0.2 beta (c) Roman Mazur <roman.mazur@gmail.com> 2012-2017

Here we do some test to check if your config ...
/usr/local/directslave/etc/directslave.conf is good.

Reading /usr/local/directslave/etc/directslave.conf ... OK

Trying to drop privileges to 25 25 ... OK

Running tests as UID:25, GID:25

Opening/creating file 'named_conf' -> /var/named/directslave.inc ... OK

Opening/creating file 'pid' -> /usr/local/directslave/run/directslave.pid ... OK

Opening/creating file 'access_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/access.log ... OK

Opening/creating file 'error_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/error.log ... OK

Opening/creating file 'action_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/action.log ... OK

Testing named_workdir acesssibility /var/named/slaves ... OK

Testing RNDC util accessibility at path /usr/sbin/rndc ... OK

*** All OK! You can safely run with --run flag.
 

verkerkict

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
12
Have you added allow-transfer / allow-notify in the bind config on the DirectAdmin server?
And are you able to connect to Directslave from DirectAdmin?
Hello,

Yes, the allow-transfer and notify are in the named.conf

test:

Tests OK

Details

*.*.*.* DirectSlave GO/3.0.2 beta connection OK.
 
Last edited:

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,789
Location
A Coruña, Spain
If the list of domains is created but not the DB files is not up to DirectSlave but to named, for some reason the zones are not getting transfered.

Have you restaqrted bind/named on the DirectAdmin server once you have added the allow-transfer and also-notify?
 

verkerkict

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
12
If the list of domains is created but not the DB files is not up to DirectSlave but to named, for some reason the zones are not getting transfered.

Have you restaqrted bind/named on the DirectAdmin server once you have added the allow-transfer and also-notify?
Checking the logging I found:
$domain not authoritative

When i add the directslave.inc to the end of named.conf i got the records.
include "/var/named/directslave.inc";

But then i could not query the named service external so also disabled in named.conf
allow-query { localhost; };

Looks like it's working now.

But when looking at:
https://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=97
I was saying that everything is done trough API.
 

roman_m

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
130
Location
Ukraine, Kiev
New version is HERE!

DirectSlave GO/3.2 Advanced released!

Now we have nice & smooth web-interface to control over our secondary zones (add, remove & change master IP)
Ability to manage users through web
Viewing DirectSlave log files
Master-file format setting (requested by SeLLeRoNe :: http://forum.directadmin.com/showthread.php?t=54992&page=2&p=287125#post287125)

To upgrade, please add folloving lines to your directslave.conf

Code:
cookie_sess_id  DS_SESSID
cookie_auth_key Change_this_line_to_something_long_&_secure
named_format    text
named_format can be text or binary, see http://geekdom.wesmo.com/2014/06/05/bind9-dns-slave-file-format/

To use web interface, copy all of contents of www folder from archive to /usr/local/directslave/www

then restart directslave and point your browser to your directslave host:port (usually 2222 for plain http or 2224 for https)

Enjoy!

All systems & archs (FreeBSD/i386/amd64 & Linux/arm/i386/amd64) build pack :: https://regme.in/download/directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.bz2

MD5 (directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.bz2) = d17090fb3cbd8f2a2ad3078016ad4e29
 
Last edited:

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,789
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Hi Roman, Thanks!!

I am gonna test it right now, first thing I have noticed is that the file is .tar.gz but it is not a gzip file, so please or rename it to just .tar or make it a projer gzip one or people will be very confused because the decompression will fail ;)

Cheers!
 

roman_m

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
130
Location
Ukraine, Kiev
Im' shure it's gzipped :)

[m@regme]~/download$ gunzip directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz
Press any key to continue...

[m@regme]~/download$ ll directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin admin 43003392 Jun 4 15:24 directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,789
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Okay, for it started, I don't get what path should I access for the web interface (and if is possible to redirect automatically HTTP to HTTPS when HTTPS is enabled).

When I try to reach the server (both HTTP and HTTPS) I've got this message: What-page-do-you-want?


Any hint?

Thanks :)
 

roman_m

Verified User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
130
Location
Ukraine, Kiev
Also, have you copied a new binary (directslave-linux-amd64) to /usr/local/directslave/bin and renamed it to directslave?
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,789
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Oh I didn't update the binary file :D

For the gzip:

>tar zxfv directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

gzip -d directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz

gzip: directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz: not in gzip format

gunzip directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz

gunzip: directslave-3.2-advanced-all.tar.gz: not in gzip format
 
Top