Dovecot/Exim - Can send emails but can't receive

mgsolidus

New member
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
3
Since using DirectAdmin, I have never ever been able to receive emails. I have been able to send them, but they nearly always end up in the spam folders.
rejectlog and mainlog inside /var/log/exim/ is just error after error after error. What errors do you need? I'll post them here.
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
8,916
Location
LT, EU
Please try:
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/custombuild
./build update
./build todovecot
 

mgsolidus

New member
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
3
mail

Please try:
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/custombuild
./build update
./build todovecot
That kind of worked. XenForo still can't send out registration conformations and other emails. I can send an email from the server to a gmail account just fine when using Roundcube. Still not receiving emails though.

Here is mainlog,

ScreenShot002.png
 

Frej

Verified User
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
156
having the same issue, mx is fine. Can send email from server to web but cant receive emails, i ttried mainlog but it doesnt show any errors nor does reject logs. Ive also rebuild dovecot from custombuild but still same issue

this log is the only thing that showed

2013-07-06 21:20:13 1Uvde8-0006jM-5M => myemail@gmail.com F=<sysadmin@myemailserver.com> R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp S=660 H=gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com [173.194.70.27] X=TLSv1:RC4-SHA:128 C="250 2.0.0 OK 1373160013 s8si11510113ees.298 - gsmtp"
2013-07-06 21:20:13 1Uvde8-0006jM-5M Completed
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,793
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Well, you should provide real domain and real IP so we can analyze at least correct DNS.
Everything with fake data, is a guess...

Regards
 

Frej

Verified User
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
156
i cant do that here since bots wil just scan for email and list it to the email spam bots.. can i pm
 

Active8

Verified User
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
293
Connect to Mail Servers

FAIL: Connection to all mail servers failed.
  • mail.greentech.expert.: dial tcp 212.8.250.135:25: connect: no route to host
To receive emails, mail servers should allow TCP connections on port 25.
 

wegreen

New member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
3
Thanks, @Active8 problem fixed but I send email to other people it's land on personal spam box, not inbox even a lot of reply
 

Maddy

New member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1
Dear All,

Finding difficulties in receiving email from third party domain emails and gmail/ymail/hotmail etc.. please suggest..(currently using only webmail)
 

zEitEr

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
14,255
Location
GMT +7.00
Hello,

A good point would be to let us know what domain do you use there. Without knowing details, I could suggest either trying to investigate it yourself:

1. disable firewall
2. check logs for possible errors

or hire somebody to do it for you.
 

mxroute

Verified User
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
32
Finding difficulties in receiving email from third party domain emails and gmail/ymail/hotmail etc
With almost 100% consistency when we hear this it means that the domain's MX records haven't been configured to point to the server.
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
4,541
Location
Maastricht
If this is his domain name:
mail.greentech.expert.: dial tcp 212.8.250.135:25: connect: no route to host
I had this a while ago. Fixed it by adding an A record in DNS for the hostname. So like:
mail A 212.8.250.135

and the rDNS is incorrect. When doing an nslookup at 212.8.250.135 it does point to customer.worldstream.nl which is not correct if your hostname would be mail.greentech.expert so either change your hostname or your rDNS record so they are similar.
 

Active8

Verified User
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
293
I had this a while ago. Fixed it by adding an A record in DNS for the hostname. So like:
mail A 212.8.250.135
Hi Richard, this is done by DA on default right ? or did i miss something ?
I never had add a A record for mail. inside DA, it was always already there or do you mean the server hostname ?
 

Richard G

Verified User
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
4,541
Location
Maastricht
never had add a A record for mail. inside DA, it was always already there or do you mean the server hostname ?
That is correct, the mail A record is created by default. DA creates it. I mean the server's hostname.
I used the hostname presented here as mail.greentech.expert then in that case mail is part of the hostname and an A record for mail should be present.
If that is present it's OK. Somebody could have mistakenly removed it so it's just a check.

It's still strange though, DNSstuff complaints there is no MX record while there is one present and intodns complaints:
The MX records that do not seem valid hostname:
mail.greentech.expert
This can cause problems
so I dont'know if it might be better to change the hostname to something else.

Anyway, the rDNS record is still not correct.
 
Top