fed up designing a billing system

matthewventura

Verified User
I'm fed up with the options out there for billing systems that are actually intuitive and make my job as a small/medium sized hosting company EASIER not harder.

CE has a good GUI but is counter intuitive and seems to make more work for me and doesnt even work for reseller accounts with DA.

MB is too expensive and doesnt support DA very much.

Since I make my living from software design for other people I am going to attempt to design my own billing solution.

Maybe I should give MB a better look but I just want something simple and effective that automates the job.

Can I get some feedback on what features you people would want in the software?

Would you prefer orders go straight through to live accounts or would you prefer some kind of human intervention between order and account setup?

Other issues?

I'm fed up with the options out there for billing systems that are actually intuitive and make my job as a small/medium sized hosting company EASIER not harder.

I agree, we use MB and it's a pain in the butt sometimes and breaks frequently for some very odd reason. It's too expensive to buy and once you buy it, you have to renew your "support license" to get upgrades. Plus it has NO support for dedicated servers/colocation accounts.

Can I get some feedback on what features you people would want in the software?

We would like to see the following in a billing system:

-Fully Compatible with DirectAdmin, adjusts, suspends, creates, and terminates accounts.

-Flat fee license with no charge for upgrading

-Fully automated billing compatible with major merchant systems.

-Domain management compatible with all the major domain registrars.

-Automated dedicated server setup, most of our servers are ready to go, but MB doesn't have a feature to send the ds information.

-Automated creation of accounts that score extremely low (or to a setting of our choosing), otherwise manual review.