Frustrations...

Marque DeWinter

Verified User
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
30
I'm starting to realize that one of my biggest problems is that throught he skins interface alot fo the functionality is not available to the admin user. For instance I just spent an hour trying to find where in the world the MySQL Management link was...I only found it when I logged into another reseller account and they had it available. The admin reseller user is missing alot of functionality which to me makes no sense. The admin should have ALL functionality but then again I still can't get it to be associated with the server's site.

Anyone have any suggestions???

~Marque

Debating wether to keep DA or try something else.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Did you use www as your server hostname? The DA installation instructions warn against that.

Jeff
 

Marque DeWinter

Verified User
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
30
No. I want the default site to be www but not the server's hostname.

So let me recap...again.

if the server is
hostname.example.com

you cannot access the site through the admin at the user level, the reseller leve, or the admin level. When you sftp/ftp and use the admin login you don't end up in a directory that is for the default site. You can't modify through the DA interface to add a subdomain of www because you can't do anything with the domain name (example.com) because its already in use. The MySQL management doesn't show under the user level for the admin because there aren't any domains and you can't add example.com

~marque
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
I'm not sure why you're having the problem.

All my DA systems are named as hostname.ns-one.net.

Yet we had no problem setting up a site for www.ns-one.net on one of those servers.

I believe I recall John telling me that DA determines if a site already exists by looking for the DNS file.

Have you tried deleting /var/named/example.com.db ?

(If you delete it be sure to keep records of anything you may need to add/change later after you've built the site.)

Jeff
 

Marque DeWinter

Verified User
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
30
Tried it...it didn't work. When I went to add the domain under the user level for the admin it still tells me that the domain exists.

~marque
 

jmstacey

Verified User
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
4,107
Location
Colorado
Try removing the domain your trying to add from the admin config files in /usr/local/directadmin/data/users/admin

I think its in the domains directory and in the domain.list file.
Once you remove the domain your trying to add it should work, it did for me when I restored the admin account on a new server.
 
Top