init scripts on debian

soulshepard

Verified User
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
133
I installed a debian (7) box with directadmin and it seems all init script installed with directadmin contain the command "status"
when performing a command /etc/init.d/directadmin status it replies with :

/etc/init.d/directadmin: line 74: status: command not found


:73 status)
:74 status $PROGNAME

it also does this with http

/etc/init.d/httpd status
/etc/init.d/httpd: line 111: status: command not found


Do more people have this and is there a solution for the internal status command.
 

scsi

Verified User
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
4,695
You probably are missing a function script. My guess is /lib/lsb/init-functions isnt being linked in correctly.
 

soulshepard

Verified User
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
133
ok, but its a default install.. and have more problems with this install very strange..
 

soulshepard

Verified User
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
133
You probably are missing a function script. My guess is /lib/lsb/init-functions isnt being linked in correctly.
btw I compared these two from centos and debian and inboth nothing is reffered to status
 

soulshepard

Verified User
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
133
You probably are missing a function script. My guess is /lib/lsb/init-functions isnt being linked in correctly.
scsi thanks for the hint:

it seems all init scripts installed by the directadmin custom build for debian are missing the the include path to the correct function file : /lib/lsb/init-functions (if this is the default for debian)
for centos it seems: /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions

to summarize: (copy and pasted)

It's specific to whatever distribution you're running. Debian and Ubuntu have /lib/lsb/init-functions; SuSE has /etc/rc.status; none of them are compatible with the others. In fact, some distributions don't use /etc/init.d at all, or use it in an incompatible way (Slackware and Arch occur to me off the top of my head; there are others).

so in the installer I must assume be a mistake for the custombuild 2.0

when I add this to the directadmin init script then it works (these sections are copied from centos
Code:
__pids_var_run() {
        local base=${1##*/}
        local pid_file=${2:-/var/run/$base.pid}

        pid=
        if [ -f "$pid_file" ] ; then
                local line p
                read line < "$pid_file"
                for p in $line ; do
                        [ -z "${p//[0-9]/}" -a -d "/proc/$p" ] && pid="$pid $p"
                done
                if [ -n "$pid" ]; then
                        return 0
                fi
                return 1 # "Program is dead and /var/run pid file exists"
        fi
        return 3 # "Program is not running"
}

# Output PIDs of matching processes, found using pidof
__pids_pidof() {
        pidof -c -o $$ -o $PPID -o %PPID -x "$1" || \
                pidof -c -o $$ -o $PPID -o %PPID -x "${1##*/}"
}

status() {
        local base pid pid_file=

        # Test syntax.
        if [ "$#" = 0 ] ; then
                echo $"Usage: status [-p pidfile] {program}"
                return 1
        fi
        if [ "$1" = "-p" ]; then
                pid_file=$2
                shift 2
        fi
        base=${1##*/}

        # First try "pidof"
        __pids_var_run "$1" "$pid_file"
        RC=$?
        if [ -z "$pid_file" -a -z "$pid" ]; then
                pid="$(__pids_pidof "$1")"
        fi
        if [ -n "$pid" ]; then
                echo $"${base} (pid $pid) is running..."
                return 0
        fi

        case "$RC" in
                0)
                        echo $"${base} (pid $pid) is running..."
                        return 0
                        ;;
                1)
                        echo $"${base} dead but pid file exists"
                        return 1
                        ;;
        esac
        # See if /var/lock/subsys/${base} exists
        if [ -f /var/lock/subsys/${base} ]; then
                echo $"${base} dead but subsys locked"
                return 2
        fi
        echo $"${base} is stopped"
        return 3
}
[/code]
 

soulshepard

Verified User
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
133
the real fix would be to add the correct path for the distributions and in this case debian to the directadmin based init scripts it is there in older versions of directadmin but not this debian.

I created on debian the following file: /lib/lsb/init-functions.d/directadminfix

Code:
cat > /lib/lsb/init-functions.d/directadminfix << EOF1
__pids_var_run() {
        local base=${1##*/}
        local pid_file=${2:-/var/run/$base.pid}

        pid=
        if [ -f "$pid_file" ] ; then
                local line p
                read line < "$pid_file"
                for p in $line ; do
                        [ -z "${p//[0-9]/}" -a -d "/proc/$p" ] && pid="$pid $p"
                done
                if [ -n "$pid" ]; then
                        return 0
                fi
                return 1 # "Program is dead and /var/run pid file exists"
        fi
        return 3 # "Program is not running"
}

# Output PIDs of matching processes, found using pidof
__pids_pidof() {
        pidof -c -o $$ -o $PPID -o %PPID -x "$1" || \
                pidof -c -o $$ -o $PPID -o %PPID -x "${1##*/}"
}

status() {
        local base pid pid_file=

        # Test syntax.
        if [ "$#" = 0 ] ; then
                echo $"Usage: status [-p pidfile] {program}"
                return 1
        fi
        if [ "$1" = "-p" ]; then
                pid_file=$2
                shift 2
        fi
        base=${1##*/}

        # First try "pidof"
        __pids_var_run "$1" "$pid_file"
        RC=$?
        if [ -z "$pid_file" -a -z "$pid" ]; then
                pid="$(__pids_pidof "$1")"
        fi
        if [ -n "$pid" ]; then
                echo $"${base} (pid $pid) is running..."
                return 0
        fi

        case "$RC" in
                0)
                        echo $"${base} (pid $pid) is running..."
                        return 0
                        ;;
                1)
                        echo $"${base} dead but pid file exists"
                        return 1
                        ;;
        esac
        # See if /var/lock/subsys/${base} exists
        if [ -f /var/lock/subsys/${base} ]; then
                echo $"${base} dead but subsys locked"
                return 2
        fi
        echo $"${base} is stopped"
        return 3
}
EOF1

now the function status and sub functions of __pids_var_run & __pids_pidof required by the centos status are added

and we need to include the functions in the wrong install scripts on the top below the #!/bin/..

debian:
# Source function library.
. /lib/lsb/init-functions

the following init scripts seem to be wrong from the install (that uses the status functions)

(I made a list with)
Code:
for i in `grep -lir "status)"`; do sh /etc/init.d/$i status; done | grep -i "status: command not found"
Code:
./mysqld: line 51: status: command not found
./dovecot: line 68: status: command not found
./freshclam: line 44: status: command not found
./da-popb4smtp: line 62: status: command not found
./clamd: line 44: status: command not found
./proftpd: line 57: status: command not found
./pure-ftpd: line 49: status: command not found
./httpd: line 113: status: command not found
./directadmin: line 77: status: command not found
./exim: line 66: status: command not found
I added
Code:
. /lib/lsb/init-functions
to all these files..

Code:
cd /etc/init.d
for i in "mysqld dovecot freshclam da-popb4smtp clamd proftpd pure-ftpd directadmin exim"; do sed -i 's/#!\/bin\/sh/#!\/bin\/sh\n\n# Source function library.\n. \/lib\/lsb\/init-functions\n/' /etc/init.d/$i; done
sed -i 's/#!\/bin\/bash/#!\/bin\/bash\n\n# Source function library.\n. \/lib\/lsb\/init-functions\n/' /etc/init.d/httpd
and check again:
Code:
for i in `grep -lir "status)"`; do ./$i status; done | grep -i "status: command not found"
-su: ./skeleton: Permission denied
you could add it also to the skeleton file to have newly created entries also corrected..
 
Last edited:

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,932
Hello,

In regards to the "status" call, I've just checked our test box and it throws the same error, so you're system is "normal" and likely matches everyone elses... that function was just never checked or implemented.
Personally, I always run
Code:
ps ax | grep directadmin
to see what's running.

John
 

hamed.ramzi

New member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4

priest666

Verified User
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
8
Hi guys.
It all started with issue with proftpd after I had to reboot the server.
Now all services are up, besides proftpd:
Code:
root@s1:/etc# service proftpd start
/etc/init.d/proftpd: line 19: /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions: No such file or directory
I can't start it from GUI as well.
What is more interesting, I can not do anything with other services:
Code:
root@s1:/etc# service httpd status
/etc/init.d/httpd: line 111: status: command not found
Building from custombuild 2.0 does not change anything.
Could you please help me?
OS: Debian 7 x64
 
Top