[Release] Rails in DA - Yet Another Ruby on Rails Plugin

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
[Release] Rails in DA - Ruby on Rails Plugin

What is Rails in DA?

Stop the shell nightmare! With the powerful features come with Rails in DA, you can manage your Rails aplpications without a pain!

This unbeatable plugin allows users to create, delete and rename Rails application. Without the need of SHH access, you can run the preset commands in the AJAX-powered, secure and jailed emulation shell. Do all of these just within DirectAdmin!

You can purchase this plugin in http://www.daplugin.com/orders. We accept Paypal and CC payment (via 2Checkout).


Links:

Features and Screenshots

Documentation

Changelogs

Auto Build Script: Ruby + RubyGems + Rails + Mongrel (Forum member only)
 
Last edited:

empoweri

Verified User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
49
Location
New York
Looking good. Does this support our own installed RoR all via RPMs? Or does your setup RoR?
 

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
empoweri said:
Looking good. Does this support our own installed RoR all via RPMs? Or does your setup RoR?
The plugin never touches your installtions. So it should not be a problem.
 

empowering

Verified User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
169
Location
New York
purchased your software and trying to install the plugin and it appears the the .tar.gz file is 1k in size?!?!

It appears the rails.tar.gz is empty from your download page.
 

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
empowering said:
purchased your software and trying to install the plugin and it appears the the .tar.gz file is 1k in size?!?!

It appears the rails.tar.gz is empty from your download page.
I have just checked, the size of the archieve is 108,955 Bytes.

or you can download it from here:
http://files.daplugin.com/rails/

Make sure to save as "rails.tar.gz"
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
hehachris said:
The plugin never touches your installtions. So it should not be a problem.
Chris,

I'm not sure what you mean.

If I install your plugin will it install ROR and all its dependencies for me?

Or will I still need to do that installation?

Jeff
 

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
jlasman said:
Chris,

I'm not sure what you mean.

If I install your plugin will it install ROR and all its dependencies for me?

Or will I still need to do that installation?

Jeff
Ruby, RubyGems and Rails can be installed using the auto build script:
http://daplugin.com/doc_build.shtml

Just like the customapache script from DA, you could install / update what you need easily. As for the situation of empowering, you don't need to worry about messing things up.

Our plugins (eg. DA-Tomcat) would not bundle any other softwares (eg. JDK, Tomcat) except themselves. I believe that it is not a good idea to bundling and raise the timeout of DA.

Hope you understand my English.

Chris
 

empowering

Verified User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
169
Location
New York
plugin is very buggy. The download link in your client area still doesn't work for me and had to use the specific URL in your files area.

Could not save the license in the control panel. I donno if this is related to we use suPHP. it looks like call /usr/local/bin/php which is fine in our case.

Found some code that has one of your other plugin. rails/admin/admin_index.php

require_once "/usr/local/directadmin/plugins/pgsql/include/common.php";

Not sure why this is there since we don't have any of your other plugins..

How do you enable/disable customers? I found no way to do this.
 

empowering

Verified User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
169
Location
New York
No IP address is assigned to our install.

Let me add grammar error:

"Version Informations" should be "Version Information"


Not looking good to roll this out to 10+ DA servers I want to offer this on. :mad:
 

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
I would like to explain that none of the issues you mentioned is bug.

Please make sure to read our documentations and not to miss any things.

For faster response, please submit a ticket in http://daplugin.com/support


empowering said:
The download link in your client area still doesn't work for me and had to use the specific URL in your files area.
It works for me.
This is not related to the plugin, but rather phpAudit.

BTW the easiest way to install the plugin is to use the Auto Build script, which is always recommended.


Could not save the license in the control panel. I donno if this is related to we use suPHP. it looks like call /usr/local/bin/php which is fine in our case.
You can change the she-bang line in the html files located in
/usr/local/directadmin/plugins/rails/admin
/usr/local/directadmin/plugins/rails/user
in case the path of PHP (CLI) binary is not /usr/local/bin/php (DA default)


Found some code that has one of your other plugin. rails/admin/admin_index.php

require_once "/usr/local/directadmin/plugins/pgsql/include/common.php";

Not sure why this is there since we don't have any of your other plugins..
I appologize that I put that file (admin_index.php) there by mistake. This file is not needed by Rails in DA at all. You could delete it without causing any problem.

Code:
rm -f /usr/local/directadmin/plugins/rails/admin/admin_index.php

How do you enable/disable customers? I found no way to do this.
This is documented.
http://daplugin.com/howto_rails2.shtml
or
http://daplugin.com/howto_rails.shtml

5, Turn Ruby on Rails Access ON/OFF for each packages. (Just like how you turn CGI ON/OFF)

We implemented this DA feature: http://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=479


No IP address is assigned to our install.
This process is automated...
phpAudit will detect your server IP and stored in the our DB.




Let me add grammar error:

"Version Informations" should be "Version Information"
edit:
you could change it in the language file:
/usr/local/directadmin/plugins/rails/include/lang/en.lang.php
 
Last edited:

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
not tested on FreeBSD.
but i think it should work, the plugin is written in PHP and C.
Would like to to be our first FreeBSD tester?

ArielHost said:
Does it work on FreeBSD 5.x ?
 

ArielHost

Verified User
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
29
Location
Union, KY
hehachris said:
not tested on FreeBSD.
but i think it should work, the plugin is written in PHP and C.
Would like to to be our first FreeBSD tester?
Sure, I'd give it a shot.
 

jackc

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
347
Hello,

My server will be used for shared hosting. The clients would like to use ROR. So I have couple questions regarding your Rails in DA plugin.
Does this plugin work with 64bit CentOS 4?
Is there anything else I need to install besides using your autobuild script to install this plugin? Will the autobuild script install fastcgi and other things needed for this plugin?
I have squid listen on the external IP as accelerator and apache on loop back interface will that affect this plugin?
Do I need to know ROR verywell inorder to use this plugin?


Thanks
 
Last edited:

hehachris

Verified User
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
598
Location
Hong Kong
It would be appreciated if you could post your enquiry in our forum http://forum.daplugin.com and you could have faster response.

Does this plugin work with 64bit CentOS 4?
Yes.

Is there anything else I need to install besides using your autobuild script to install this plugin? Will the autobuild script install fastcgi and other things needed for this plugin?
You can use the plugin to install Ruby, RubyGems, FastCGI, mod_fastcgi/modfcgid and the plugin. These are all wt you need.

I have squid listen on the external IP as accelerator and apache on loop back interface will that affect this plugin?
No. The plugin does not touch Apache.

Do I need to know ROR verywell inorder to use this plugin?
No. The objective of the plugin is to ease your work and make your clients feel comfortable.
 
Top