Roundcube 1.4.11 broken due to unsupported PHP version

warg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
101
Hello,

I just updated Roundcube to 1.4.11 from 1.4.10 via CustomBuild 2.0. During the update, I got these messages in the log/protocol:

Editing roundcube configuration...
Roundcube 1.4.11 has been installed successfully.
Unsupported PHP version. Required PHP >= 5.4 and < 8.0.
Done!
When I open Roundcube after the upgrade, I get this error:
Unsupported PHP version. Required PHP >= 5.4 and < 8.0.

So I think CustomBuild 2.0 allows an unsupported mix of PHP and Roundcube. A short research shows that PHP 8 isn't supported by Roundcube so this is no issue of CustomBuild's setup but maybe there should be a warning by DIrectadmin or something like this regarding the upgrade to PHP 8 and an incompatibility with Roundcube.

This happens on Debian 10 with PHP 8.0.2

Best Regards,
 

warg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
101
Well, I think that's not comparable. It's not a bug of PHP 8 nor Roundcube. It's just a setup that's not supported by Roundcube and thus shouldn't be possible like this for a Directadmin setup.
 

piitr

New member
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
2
Well, I think that's not comparable. It's not a bug of PHP 8 nor Roundcube. It's just a setup that's not supported by Roundcube and thus shouldn't be possible like this for a Directadmin setup.
Hi @warg
I had the same problem. In the file "iniset.php" (roundcube_folder -> program -> include) I rewrote the value 80000 on lines 22-24 to the value 90000 and everything, as it seems, works.
if (PHP_VERSION_ID >= 80000) {
die("Unsupported PHP version. Required PHP >= 5.4 and < 8.0.");
}
I think it will help.
 

warg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
101
Thank you guys for sharing your information and providing a workaround. Highly appreciated!
 

unihostbrasil

Verified User
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
198
Location
São Paulo - Brazil
Note that this workaround is not recommended, the version check is because the RC is not yet approved to run on PHP 8. If the check is bypassed, your installation may present several problems.
 

piitr

New member
Joined
Feb 17, 2021
Messages
2
Note that this workaround is not recommended, the version check is because the RC is not yet approved to run on PHP 8. If the check is bypassed, your installation may present several problems.
It is OK. the previous version worked without problems.
They could at least give us a warning before downloading and updating. This is a step backwards.
 

unihostbrasil

Verified User
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
198
Location
São Paulo - Brazil
I do not recommend keeping a new major PHP version as the main one on a production server.

PHP 8 is not yet 3 months old, I suggest keeping PHP 7.4 as primary and 8 as secondary (optional), so the scripts that run on your server will have time to be adapted and run well in the new PHP.
 

bdacus01

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
2,980
Location
Murfreesboro
I think he means a warning from DirectAdmin/CustomBuild.
Why would they do that? They don’t code roundcube. That’s the Admins job to study compatibility. Same reason no one should be using php 8. It’s not stable and won’t be for 6 + months.
 

jBert

New member
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
3
Thank you, @warg ! Worked for me now I'm getting this message. I think I could fix it.
Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function set_time_limit() in /var/www/vhosts/jbertmusic.com/httpdocs/roundcube/program/include/iniset.php:58 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/vhosts/jbertmusic.com/httpdocs/roundcube/installer/index.php(43): require() #1 {main} thrown in /var/www/vhosts/jbertmusic.com/httpdocs/roundcube/program/include/iniset.php on line 58
 

anay

Verified User
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
88
I solved it by making PHP 7.4 as default and PHP 8.0 by secondary and then ./build php .
 

jamgames2

Verified User
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
489
@jBert
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/custombuild
./build update
./build set php1_release 7.4
./build set php2_release 8.0
./build php n
./build rewrite_confs
Also these step can do with Custombuild 2.0 too, in 'Admin Level -> Custombuild '
 

jBert

New member
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
3
Hi @jamgames2 I don't have git and all the other program software I will need to install them. I'm using Plesk and Filezilla FTP not the terminal.
 

jamgames2

Verified User
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
489
Then you need to go to Plesk forum to find how to do it.
Something like how to change "(Main/Default or Secondary/2nd) php" Version.


This forum is for DA Community. feel free to ask/report some bug.
But I recommend to go to Plesk Community. that can solve quickly
 

Mitch

Verified User
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
74
Hi, I have the same issue,

I did change php1_release to 7.4 but phpinfo in roundcube still shows me php 8.0.6.
In custombuild 2 I changed php1_release to 7.4 and php2_release to 8.0 but still roundcube is run in php8...

What todo? Why I cannot just choose the version roundcube has to run with? :/
 

jamgames2

Verified User
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
489
Hi, I have the same issue,

I did change php1_release to 7.4 but phpinfo in roundcube still shows me php 8.0.6.
In custombuild 2 I changed php1_release to 7.4 and php2_release to 8.0 but still roundcube is run in php8...

What todo? Why I cannot just choose the version roundcube has to run with? :/
Rebuild you php again
 
Top