Custom Apache Build System

tonykn2001

Verified User
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
6
FC3 yum update with DA

Hi, I am new to DA... be gentle please :)
I have been messing my box up over the last few days and wanted to check on whether or not to use 'yum update'. Will this screw up the DA customapache or can it be used as a way of keeping modules up to date?
Does customapache put files in locations other than those expected by the default FC3 settings that yum might expect? I note from reading this thread that it is a combination of source complies and rpm installation and I suspect it is not compatible with yum.

Also on reading through the whole of this thread (which is at least a couple of cups of coffe long) that there are some real gems hidden in its depths such as the reason for using 'service' to restart apache. Can I suggest having a 'gems' thread or an 'infobase' in which such items are stored. I am so used to apachectl I failed to follow instructions, had the instructions said use service.... because then I would not have ended up digging myself out of a trench ... perhaps.

I have come from using 42go and am delighted with DA despite my own stupidity in messing up my machine :mad:

Tony
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Yum update may corrupt certain parts of your system, unless the config file has been updated to exclude certain programs.

This exclude line works for us, on RHEL systems; add it to the bottom of the [main] section of /etc/yum.conf, or just replace the include line already there:

exclude=httpd* mysql* php* perl* apache* mod_* MySQL* *ftp* exim* sendmail* php* kernel* da_*

Jeff
 

artichoke

Verified User
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
42
Location
San Jose, California, USA
build semantics : how to specify multiple options?

I am having some difficulty understanding the semantics of the ./build command.

If we were compiling Apache manually, then we would enable or disable many individual options. But the './build' script accepts only ONE option at a time. How does it know which COMBINATION we want? For example, how would one rebuild Apache with all of the following enabled: Zend, mod_perl, mod_ssl?

Is it the case that even if we specify just one option (e.g. './build zend'), ALL OTHERS are automatically enabled?

Rahul
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
9,051
Hello,

When the install happens, "./build all d" is used. This will install everything except zend. If you want zend, just run "./build zend" to set it up.

Mod_perl will already be enabled/running. If a new version comes out, you'd run:
./build update
./build mod_perl

You'd only need to run "./build apache_mod_ssl" if there is a new version of apache that you want to compile (run after ./build update).

If you are thinking on how to enable/disable apache modules for when you run ./build apache_mod_ssl, this might help:
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=50
(configure.apache_ssl)


Although, most of the time, php is the one that people want to modify:
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=23
(configure.php)

By running just "./build zend", it adds zend to the php config. It doesn't need to recompile anything.

John
 

NickVDB

Verified User
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
10
After running customapache ./build clean and then ./build all apache fails without error.. and it doesnt say ok anymore when starting.
 

thoroughfare

Verified User
Joined
Aug 11, 2003
Messages
575
Nick,

Try downgrading to Apache 1.3.33, PHP to 4.3.11 AND ZEND to 5.7.

Had the exact same issue, Zend is the culprit.

HTH,
Matt
 

Equand

Verified User
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
46
this problem is on freebsd 4.10

ok theres a huge problem with this i see... i've made like thoroughfare said (thanx mate), but now i've got another problem

mysql_connect(): Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client in

well as far as i understood php 4.3.11 wasn't supposed to work with mysql 4.11, now any suggestions? how to fix the non working zend? i need latest php 4 to work...
 
Last edited:

Webcart

Verified User
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
398
Equand said:
mysql_connect(): Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client in

well as far as i understood php 4.3.11 wasn't supposed to work with mysql 4.11, now any suggestions? how to fix the non working zend? i need latest php 4 to work...
PHP 4.3.11 can work with MySQL 4.1x just fine.
You just need to make sure PHP is compiled with mysql extension supporting MySQL 4.1x. Change "--with-mysql" to "--with-mysql=/PATH/TO/MySQL41".
Alternatively, you can force old-style authentication in MySQL 4.1x: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/password-hashing.html

Let us know how it goes.
 

Equand

Verified User
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
46
Webcart said:
PHP 4.3.11 can work with MySQL 4.1x just fine.
You just need to make sure PHP is compiled with mysql extension supporting MySQL 4.1x. Change "--with-mysql" to "--with-mysql=/PATH/TO/MySQL41".
Alternatively, you can force old-style authentication in MySQL 4.1x: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/password-hashing.html

Let us know how it goes.
Thank you that worked
 
Last edited:

Equand

Verified User
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
46
ok now because i had downgraded from 2.0 to 1.3.33 i have one problem, the restart of the process
whenever i do that apache doesn't startup until i do '/usr/sbin/apachectl start' , any clues why /usr/sbin/httpd not working?
and now apache goes down every 1 hour

************
fixed
************
rm -rf /usr/local/Zend
/usr/local/directadmin/customapache/build zend
************
after procedures
************
cat /usr/local/lib/php.ini-zend_optimizer.bak >> /usr/local/lib/php.ini
************
and don't forget to edit php.ini afterwards to delete all old zend added text (new zend will be on top of .ini)
this may be redone buy installing several different zend optimizers

thanx to everybody...

now i got last question, how to reconfigure gd to use freetype?
 
Last edited:

Equand

Verified User
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
46
new bug
Mar 1 19:19:47 customer-2448 /kernel: pid 24105 (httpd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)
Mar 1 19:19:56 customer-2448 /kernel: pid 24148 (httpd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)
Mar 1 19:20:00 customer-2448 /kernel: pid 24243 (httpd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)
Mar 1 19:20:02 customer-2448 /kernel: pid 24289 (httpd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)
Mar 1 19:20:12 customer-2448 /kernel: pid 24331 (httpd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)

and i don't know why (

now disconnected zend, it works but, why it stopped working? all day it worked ok...
 

bigboy

Verified User
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
231
Location
USA
masage my server
#dmesg

zend error or apache ?

pid 17104 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 2380 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 8630 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 7041 (cpio), uid 0 inumber 49539 on /mnt: filesystem full
pid 57319 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 4206 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 67833 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 39818 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 70924 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 72220 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 29557 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 47286 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 30746 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 34299 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 50252 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 34622 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 26371 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 26767 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 87003 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 34081 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 32796 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 34343 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 67709 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 56991 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 71917 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 3990 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 73522 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 70217 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 69082 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
pid 82616 (httpd), uid 1004: exited on signal 11
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,798
Location
A Coruña, Spain
i made an error...

i've deleted all in /usr/local/customapache/

how i can solve it? where i can download build?

please help me!
 
Top