Custom Apache Build System

Fantole

Verified User
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
26
Thank you very much

Its impecable functions :cool:

It in were made very simple :eek:

But I thought of being able to use FreeType

Mais sa ne fonctionne pas

There is you lines like this one to install that ?

Because I would like to use a police true type to make a visual confirmation.

Example : http://forum.phpbb.biz/files/screen_304.gif
 
Last edited:

HenkTank

New member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
1
edit:

apache works again. No idea why

So is DA supported on Debian? Because we got much instal errors!
 
Last edited:

jmstacey

Verified User
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
4,107
Location
Colorado
HenkTank said:
So is DA supported on Debian? Because we got much instal errors!
Although I haven't done an install on Debian in quite awhile, I didn't run into many problems at the time. As far as I know it's still marked as beta, but I haven't had to much time to check in lately.
 

fwpeter

Verified User
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
108
Fantole said:
No solution under Debian? :(
I don't have any problems under Debian. Installing DA is a piece of cake. Just make sure you have a clean install of Debian (don't install Apache, PHP, mail, etc.)

See: http://www.directadmin.com/installguide.html

Keeping it secure and up to date is all to you, but Waels update script works great with Debian.
 
Last edited:

Fantole

Verified User
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
26
I have already directadmin installed on my Host

There must be well a problem some share? :( :( :eek:
 

blazingbiz

Verified User
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
52
Location
San Jose CA
Help with Custom Apache, Hosed Server

I'm a newbi and I tried to update my server which is running CentOS 4.1 to Php5 and Apache 2.2.3 I read and followed the instructions here in this forum with the ./ build commands and I also followed instructions on my hosting company's knowledgebase and another DA thread that essentially installed Php5 and Apache 2.2.3 manually the traditional way. I just followed both procedures and I did the manual way twice because my httpd wasn't showing up anymore.

I did the manual install of Php5 and the manual wget of apache-httpd2.2.3 using make and make install first, then the customapache ./ build methods, then the manual wget of apache-httpd2.2.3 using make and make install twice more because things were not working right.

Needless to say, my httpd is down and has been down since I did this. What is worse is that I cannot log in to my server now using SSH and putty, I get "Server unexpectedly refused connection" and then click ok and putty shows "inactive" and then shuts down.

Any suggestions about what to do at this point? Also if I get my server back up, how can I make sure I get Php5 and apache2.2.3 working right on my DA/CentOS server with the latest version of DA. I had just figured out that I needed to update my DA version before all this happened. I was running 1.23.6 I think. When I try to manually do this from the Admin CP, I got an error about my license not being valid. It expires every month along with my hosting payment billing cycle I think. How can take care of the updating of my license and DA version once my server and everything is back up?

Thanks
 

blazingbiz

Verified User
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
52
Location
San Jose CA
Add on to my previous post

I can connect to my server now with putty, I think this was a temporary thing because my hosting tech support person was logged in as root when I tried last time.
 

tygersclaw

Verified User
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
24
I tried to update my customapache today and although I ran all the commands, nothing happened when I issued the ./build all command.

I tried the following and this was my output...

[root@da1 customapache]# wget http://files.directadmin.com/services/customapache/build
--13:16:26-- http://files.directadmin.com/services/customapache/build
=> `build.5'
Resolving files.directadmin.com... 199.237.54.170
Connecting to files.directadmin.com[199.237.54.170]:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 57,287 [text/plain]

100%[====================================>] 57,287 --.--K/s

13:16:26 (1.10 MB/s) - `build.5' saved [57,287/57,287]

[root@da1 customapache]# chmod 755 build
[root@da1 customapache]# ./build update
[root@da1 customapache]# ./build all
And as I said earlier, after I issue the ./build all command, nothing happens.

Nothing....

Is there something I am doing wrong??
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,919
Hello,

If you check what you did, you've downloaded it to "build.5", and not "build". If you use wget to download a file that already exists where you're downloading to, it wget ends up adding .# to the end.. so you'd have to add "-O build" to the wget line.

I actually just recommend typing:

./build update

to get the new build script and all it's new data, over wget.
The update will also update all configure files if there are new apache or php versions.

If nothing happens, it likely means you're build is empty, so you need to use your wget command, along with the -O option.

wget -O build http://files.directadmin.com/services/customapache/build

John
 

vbrednikov

New member
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
2
Location
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
how to add a 3rd party module

Here in Russia there is a very popular apache module mod_charset (http://apache.lexa.ru/english/), which is needed to support lots of russian encodings (there are 4 general charsets here: cp1251, koi8-r, cp866, iso8859-5, and some others). It's distributed in two ways: as a ready apache tarball with the module included, and as a patch which can be applied to apache source tree.

So we want to use it at our hosting. The problem is that this patch must be applied BEFORE configure, and it is not compatible with some patch from mod_ssl distribution, which we need too.

Of course I can compile and install apache manually but it will be overwritten during next update.

What will you recommend to do?
 

jmstacey

Verified User
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
4,107
Location
Colorado
I can't think of a way around it. You will have to reaply the patch everytime you update Apache regardless of whether or not it is through custom apache. You may want to write a shell script which will automatically apply the changes you need to apache and the build script. When update time rolls around all you would have to do would be to execute your custom script.
 

xemaps

Verified User
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
430
Location
Europe
Re: how to add a 3rd party module

vbrednikov said:
Here in Russia there is a very popular apache module mod_charset (http://apache.lexa.ru/english/), which is needed to support lots of russian encodings (there are 4 general charsets here: cp1251, koi8-r, cp866, iso8859-5, and some others). It's distributed in two ways: as a ready apache tarball with the module included, and as a patch which can be applied to apache source tree.

So we want to use it at our hosting. The problem is that this patch must be applied BEFORE configure, and it is not compatible with some patch from mod_ssl distribution, which we need too.

Of course I can compile and install apache manually but it will be overwritten during next update.

What will you recommend to do?
Have you tried that ?
# /usr/sbin/apxs -iac mod_charset.c
Then the module is added to apache 1.3.xx
and you can add directives at server level, host, domain aso

be sure to copy charset at right place, see their doc.
 

vbrednikov

New member
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
2
Location
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
jmstacey said:
I can't think of a way around it. You will have to reaply the patch everytime you update Apache regardless of whether or not it is through custom apache. You may want to write a shell script which will automatically apply the changes you need to apache and the build script. When update time rolls around all you would have to do would be to execute your custom script.
Originally posted by xemaps
Have you tried that ?
# /usr/sbin/apxs -iac mod_charset.c
Then the module is added to apache 1.3.xx
and you can add directives at server level, host, domain aso
Thank you jmstacey and xemaps for your answers. I found a third way: Apache 2 contains the similar functionality (charset_lite) so I will upgrade apache.
 

freshmint

Verified User
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
120
Sorry not going thru the whole thread, but does the build script overwrites changes we make on the configure.* scripts?

Like I modify my configure.* to modules I'd like to compile in both apache and php and when updating build scripts, changes are gone and now I have default configure.* scripts.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Yes it can. Depending on exactly what you run, It deletes them and completely reloads them.

You might want to save them first, and compare later. That's what we do.

Jeff
 

Chrysalis

Verified User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
1,584
Location
uk
the script should download .default or .dist files not overwrite current ones and perhaps echo to terminal to check them for changes.
 

maldito

Verified User
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
57
As posted here I upgraded from 1.3 to 2.0.5x using the custom apache script.

Now, I have 2 important questions:

1- Which modules are loaded? I know perl, php and frontpage are running, but about the rest? where are they?

2- Which mpm mode am I running? Since I only run one cpu, prefork should be my best option, but the config has the other 2 modes and they are all conditioned with an "If".

I would really apreciate the help
 

pucky

Verified User
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
795
This thread is getting very confusing. Cant determine what works and what doesnt work from peoples installation experience. Maybe it should be closed and restarted
 
Top