DirectSlave/GO 3 - public beta

markhard

New member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
4
@roman_m, do you intent to open source the latest version? since on the original forum post it's mentioned that directslave is an open source project
 

spacecabbie

Verified User
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
103
Location
The Netherlands
Nice one may i suggest to adapt it to a plugin for da ?
Also, Is the Go new ?
its a bit confusing especially since the post is from 2018.

The documentation is a bit off. Since its referring to directory's witch since have been changed moved.
If you setup wiki or something i am happy to update the manual for centos 7.

The Above is no criticism what so ever mere suggestions. Taken from my experience sofar.

My problem is nslookup on the master (DA) server gets server can't find xxxx.nl REFUSED.
logs are full with:
2019:11:28-19:24:23: Cluster: Error writing remote dns zone at host x.x.x.x for domain (xxxx.xxxxxxxxxx.nl): (null) (retry=0)
2019:11:28-19:24:23: Cluster socket:

I am pretty sure its my fault with my named on DA but it has been reset to defaults still can't get it to work.
So my inexperience with dns/bind services is necking me. Any pointers or link to guide that i can use as a prerequisite to install this ?
Or if any one can link/show me their master and slave and directslave .conf files wil be helpfull as a guideline.
 

lordlex

Verified User
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
20
Location
Romania
Hi. Does it support DNSSEC?

@spacecabbie check on your master your firewall to allow AXFR and your named.conf for allow-transfer from your secondaries. So, if your secondary IP is e.g. 172.15.15.15, then on your master should allow connections from 172.15.15.15 and your allow-transfer and allow-query should include this IP address. Also, on your secondary, you should allow access from your master.
 

bdacus01

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
676
Location
Murfreesboro
Nice one may i suggest to adapt it to a plugin for da ?
Also, Is the Go new ?
its a bit confusing especially since the post is from 2018.

The documentation is a bit off. Since its referring to directory's witch since have been changed moved.
If you setup wiki or something i am happy to update the manual for centos 7.

The Above is no criticism what so ever mere suggestions. Taken from my experience sofar.

My problem is nslookup on the master (DA) server gets server can't find xxxx.nl REFUSED.
logs are full with:
2019:11:28-19:24:23: Cluster: Error writing remote dns zone at host x.x.x.x for domain (xxxx.xxxxxxxxxx.nl): (null) (retry=0)
2019:11:28-19:24:23: Cluster socket:

I am pretty sure its my fault with my named on DA but it has been reset to defaults still can't get it to work.
So my inexperience with dns/bind services is necking me. Any pointers or link to guide that i can use as a prerequisite to install this ?
Or if any one can link/show me their master and slave and directslave .conf files wil be helpfull as a guideline.
Did you try my install script?

 

spacecabbie

Verified User
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
103
Location
The Netherlands
Atm gave up since DNS is a whole other ball game and i need this to run perfect. So hired Poralix to do it for me. thanks for the suggestions.

PS @bdacus01 I don't think so but at this stage i couldn't give you any usable feedback even if i did since i messed to much with it.
 

skyknight

New member
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
1
I need some advise, i don't know what is wrong with my directslave.

I successfully installed directslave. No error when running directslave --check.
Directadmin can connect to directslave.
Bind is running with no error
My directslave can receive NEW dns (create from directadmin) and directslave can DELETE dns (delete from directadmin)

My problem is:
My directslave can not update dns if there dns change on directadmin.

What is going on with my directslave? and how to fix it?

[root@ns2 bin]# ./directslave --check
DirectSlave GO/3.3 Advanced (c) Roman Mazur <roman.mazur@gmail.com> 2012-2019

Here we do some test to check if your config ...
/usr/local/directslave/etc/directslave.conf is good.

Reading /usr/local/directslave/etc/directslave.conf ... OK

Trying to drop privileges to 25 25 ... OK

Running tests as UID:25, GID:25

Opening/creating file 'access_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/access.log ... OK

Opening/creating file 'error_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/error.log ... OK

Opening/creating file 'action_log' -> /usr/local/directslave/log/action.log ... OK

Opening/creating file 'named_conf' -> /var/named/directslave.inc ... OK

Opening/creating file 'pid' -> /usr/local/directslave/run/directslave.pid ... OK

Testing named_workdir acesssibility /var/named/secondary ... OK

Testing RNDC util accessibility at path /usr/sbin/rndc ... OK

*** All OK! You can safely run with --run flag.
 

edw_evo

New member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
6
Hi,

I have done a fresh installation on DirectAdmin + CloudLinux.
I have installed DirectSlave on CentOS7

Did the installation using https://github.com/afrizalnet/directslave-install

DirectSlave started without any issues.
I added some demo DNS entries on the DirectAdmin Box.
But the DNS entries is not replicating on the DirectSlave Box.

I modified DirectAdmin's /etc/named.conf file and added for the slave server

Code:
    allow-transfer { xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; };
    allow-notify { xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; };
    notify yes;
I see that in the named.conf file on DirectSlave it does have the master servers IP listed there.

I thought it was a firewall issue so I did some dig tests from the DirectAdmin Server to the DirectSlave server and that went trough fine.
I saw the failed dig entries in /var/log/messages (The domain does not exist on the DirectSlave server)

Any suggestion why the DNS is not replicating?
 

bdacus01

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
676
Location
Murfreesboro
The script you used it 5 years old.. you might try mine here
 

edw_evo

New member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
6
I need some advise, i don't know what is wrong with my directslave.

I successfully installed directslave. No error when running directslave --check.
Directadmin can connect to directslave.
Bind is running with no error
My directslave can receive NEW dns (create from directadmin) and directslave can DELETE dns (delete from directadmin)

My problem is:
My directslave can not update dns if there dns change on directadmin.

What is going on with my directslave? and how to fix it?
I have the same issue any advise?
 

bdacus01

Verified User
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
676
Location
Murfreesboro
Hi,

I have done a fresh installation on DirectAdmin + CloudLinux.
I have installed DirectSlave on CentOS7

Did the installation using https://github.com/afrizalnet/directslave-install

DirectSlave started without any issues.
I added some demo DNS entries on the DirectAdmin Box.
But the DNS entries is not replicating on the DirectSlave Box.

I modified DirectAdmin's /etc/named.conf file and added for the slave server

Code:
    allow-transfer { xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; };
    allow-notify { xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; };
    notify yes;
I see that in the named.conf file on DirectSlave it does have the master servers IP listed there.

I thought it was a firewall issue so I did some dig tests from the DirectAdmin Server to the DirectSlave server and that went trough fine.
I saw the failed dig entries in /var/log/messages (The domain does not exist on the DirectSlave server)

Any suggestion why the DNS is not replicating?
Do you have the multi server setup?
 
Top