Discussion about CustomBuild

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,804
Location
A Coruña, Spain
I would like to ask to smtalk to add the mod_clamav to proftpd when clamav is set to yes in optionts.conf

Is that possible?

Thanks
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,804
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Well exim require a little more manual work than proftpd :)
http://www.directadmin.com/forum/sh...D-Antivirus-using-CLAMAV&highlight=mod_clamav

Your link was regarding pure-ftp (didnt read before sorry) :) but, i suppose that (at least for you) would be enough easy to do that (same as suhosing php patch, but, will require post-dated outoing php version that is not suggested for sure).

For now, my own script will use the script ive linked you that work correctly, but, use less exeternal script and have all centralized i suppose would be very nice not just for me.

Best regards :)
 

nmb

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
213
smtalk, as you said in another post that there Custombuild 2.0 is coming. Do you have any plan to support PHP-FPM in it? PHP 5.4 is coming soon and with RC2, they just removed "EXPERIMENTAL" status from it. Even 5.3.9 will also support Ondemand feature which is perfect alternative to suphp.

Also, I have asked in another post and never get a reply about MySQL where Custombuild is usually download MySQL files while updating using "./build update_versions". With that, with slow speed connection, the real update process will also take longer than it should be. Why don't you allow us to download it with ./build update ?

Thanks
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
9,630
Location
LT, EU
smtalk, as you said in another post that there Custombuild 2.0 is coming. Do you have any plan to support PHP-FPM in it? PHP 5.4 is coming soon and with RC2, they just removed "EXPERIMENTAL" status from it. Even 5.3.9 will also support Ondemand feature which is perfect alternative to suphp.

Also, I have asked in another post and never get a reply about MySQL where Custombuild is usually download MySQL files while updating using "./build update_versions". With that, with slow speed connection, the real update process will also take longer than it should be. Why don't you allow us to download it with ./build update ?

Thanks

I will test FPM and will probably add the support for it if everything works fine. About "./build update", MySQL is not added to the list of files to download, because on debian, for example, we download the tarball directly to /usr/local. We'll probably discuss MySQL function rewrite with John, but firstly, we need to get CustomBuild 2.0 out of alpha (http://files.directadmin.com/services/custombuild/2.0/custombuild/build). Thank you for your questions.
 

nmb

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
213
I will test FPM and will probably add the support for it if everything works fine. About "./build update", MySQL is not added to the list of files to download, because on debian, for example, we download the tarball directly to /usr/local. We'll probably discuss MySQL function rewrite with John, but firstly, we need to get CustomBuild 2.0 out of alpha (http://files.directadmin.com/services/custombuild/2.0/custombuild/build). Thank you for your questions.

Hope that FPM will work great and include in Custombuild :) Oh, I saw in the script allows to compile 2 PHP versions. (php*_release) How about 3 so that 5.2, 5.3 and 5.4 can be included for backward compatibility for some website.

Also, I found minor mistake here :

echo -n "What PHP release should be installed as a default one? (4.4/5.2/5.3/5.5): ";

That should be 5.4 instead of 5.5.

Thanks smtalk.
 

dicktump

Verified User
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Enschede, NL
Is it possible to have a custom Dovecot configure file? I can't find it in the custombuild information and I have also tried to find it in the custombuild script. I would like to have this for a server which also uses a MySQL user/pass database, so I need a custom configure file with MySQL support.
 

Zwerver

Verified User
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
23
Hi,

Am I the only one who on Debian 5.0.9 isn't getting the Apache 2.2.22 update with update_versions? On my CentOS machine I get it, but build update_versions doesn't give me new sources on Debian 5.0.9
 

SeLLeRoNe

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
6,804
Location
A Coruña, Spain
Maybe the mirror your are checking is still not synced.

Try put files11.directadmin.com in your options.conf and then build update

Regards
 

explosive

Verified User
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
180
Location
PL/EU
Martynas says in closed thread about CustomBuild2:
We are planning to drop suPHP support and use PHP-FPM+mod_fastcgi instead of it (with 2 multiple versions of PHP, there would be a few PHP-FPM start/stop scripts on the system), that would change CB 2.0 completely.
Could you tell us something more about this? I've problems with googling about it - how to compare suPHP to php-fpm? What about safety? It's working on that same rules as suPHP (every user run only as him)? Some pros and cons? It's more safe for hosting companies to migrate from suPHP to php-fpm?
Thank you!
 

nmb

Verified User
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
213
I'm currently use PHP-FPM for some domain and mod_fcgid for the rest on the server. Here is what I did -> http://www.bxtra.net/category/php-fpm However, you should wait until Custombuild 2.0 comes out. It will be a lot easier, I believe.

suPHP, mod_fcgid, PHP-FPM are running as the user. So, the security is the same in this case.

suPHP will create a process to run the script each time you need it, then, kill itself. (Which takes time and resources.) Compare to PHP-FPM that will create the process and wait to run any script. PHP-FPM won't kill itself for a period of time. Also, since PHP-FPM doesn't kill itself every time it runs the script and there are a parent process to manage each child PHP-FPM processes, XCache/APC opcode cache will work great with it. You can also limit the PHP-FPM processes per user. Ex. 4 processes for user A, 8 processes for User B.

That's what I can think of right now.
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
9,630
Location
LT, EU
For those of you who want to install mod_suphp, please remember that php_value and php_flag for .htaccess files won't work anymore.

If you want to find a way to overwrite php.ini settings (other than installing htscanner extension which is in alpha state), take a look at the first user note here:

http://php.net/manual/en/configuration.changes.php

... which will ultimately lead you to the blog post in here:

http://www.askapache.com/php/custom-phpini-tips-and-tricks.html

Rob

htscanner is now added to CustomBuild 2.0 :) And it's stable now (http://pecl.php.net/package/htscanner).
 
Top